Homemade Cards with Neon Paper

Homemade Get Well and Thank You Card with Neon Papers

My good friend Vickie loves paper. She had a box of paper samples that she absolutely  adored. (You know, the kind that sales people leave behind at paper stores like Xpedx).  I say had, because she recently gave them to me! Wow, what an honor.

Vickie emailed me shortly after giving me the books of paper samples to discuss the neon paper. Just between you and me, I think she was a little worried that I wouldn’t cherish the bright colors as much as she did. She suggested I could make cards for teenagers with the bright colors. Sure, that’s definitely a possibility. We joked back and forth via email about the neon colors. That’s when I knew – I was going to make her a card with the neon brights.

Homemade Neon Thank You Card

I determined to make a card for my friend that used only papers from the sample books that she gave me and one of the requirements was to incorporate bright neon paper.

bright neon card with geckos

One of the paper stacks had this image of gecko’s to illustrate what printing would look like on it. I thought it too fun not to make a card out of. I created a thank you tag (Denami stamp) on bright neon green paper. I distressed the tag with Tim Holtz distress ink. I also used a special black cardstock for the front of the card that was the cover of one of the paper book. It has a beautiful embossed pattern on it – which is all but covered up.

neon stack also had shiney gecko on vellum

For the inside I added a shiney gecko that was on a piece of vellum in the paper book. I think he makes a cute addition here. The inside has neon green paper on the left (I needed to cover some glue marks from where I ripped the paper from the sample book) and bright yellow on the right.

When paired with the geckos and black cardstock, the neon almost looks natural, like they are colors you could use all the time on any card! And that’s what Vickie noticed, too.

Homemade Neon Get Well Card

One of the things my friend Vickie suggested in one of our emails was that I make a get well soon card for a friend of ours who’s having knee surgery. She suggested that the neon colors would make a nice bright and cheerful card. Not wanting to disappoint, I created a Get Well Soon card using neon bright paper.

Get Well Soon card incorporates neon paper!

Well, here it is. What do you think? Again, I think the neon’s look natural here on this brown paper. In fact, I think the bright neon paper makes the flowers look happy! I love happy! The flowers and punch are Stampin’ Up. The blue is embossed through my cuttlebug with distressed blue ink to highlight the embossing. The Get Well Soon stamp is stampabilities. The flowers are folded up to give depth and have little buttons in the center which have scrappers floss tied through them.

Inside I brought in some more embossed blue and scallop trim punched green.

So there you are. My neon paper experiment. A few years ago I think I would have stared at the neon paper and scratched my head in bewilderment. When in doubt, make flowers! =)

2 Comments

  1. Vickie said,

    February 7, 2010 at 22:38

    LOve them both!!! Eunice is going to be so HAPPY even with her knee all surgereed up! 🙂

  2. Vickie said,

    March 30, 2010 at 21:44

    It’s still on my mantle-I like it that much!!!


Leave a comment