Valentine Elegant Mess

Valentines Card Using Elegant Mess Technique

If I haven’t said it before, I adore Lucy Abrams’ cards! They seriously warm my heart and lift my spirit. She created a sketch that inspired me to put my elegant mess to work. By elegant mess I mean Fred Mullet’s color wash technique. Check it out.

So I created the following valentines card using her sketch.

Valentine Card using Lucy Abrams Sketch

As you can see above, I created two different types of messy paper with the color wash. One is bold and solid red. The other is mostly white with a smattering of color. These are both created on water color paper. I used a template to cut out the hearts. Then embossed the Stampin’ Up love stamp in black.

I curled the hearts around a pen prior to gluing them to the card. You can see that better in this profile photo.

Valentine card profile showing raised edges of hearts

One of the things I love about this sketch is that it only has a few elements. It can be challenging to limit oneself to a few items.

It will be tough but I think I’ll hide this valentine’s card to give it to my sweetheart in February!

5 Comments

  1. Lucy Abrams said,

    January 2, 2011 at 05:45

    This is so striking. I love the way the hearts curve upwards. Thanks for playing along with my challenge.

  2. Jill Foster said,

    January 8, 2011 at 19:54

    Love the rustic nature of this card! Just beautiful!!

  3. Rach said,

    January 11, 2011 at 09:56

    oh what a beautiful card, so pretty.
    I bought the lotv stamp from
    http://www.liliofthevalley.co.uk/acatalog/Big_Present.html

    I thought that i had added the link to my blog post, sorry..x

  4. *Chrissie* said,

    January 14, 2011 at 00:37

    This is such an interesting technique, what a super card.
    Thanks for your interest in our new blog Less is More… we are looking forward to welcome you to our challenges!
    Chrissie

  5. Zoe said,

    February 8, 2011 at 00:43

    Nice card!!
    Love it! beautiful!
    i am making handmade cards too, feel free to visit my blog ya!

    Cheers,
    Zoe =)


Leave a Reply

