Place Cards for Drinks

Place Cards at a Potluck

Place cards can really take the guesswork out of unidentifiable foods and drinks at a potluck. Of course, potlucks are awesome because you get to sample people’s favorite foods. But drinks can be a bit more mysterious when stored in coolers and igloos. Place cards will help speed up the beverage counter because people can quickly see what their options are.

Place Cards for Drinks

Place cards for drinks

As you can see, I created three place cards using a table tent design…meaning they stand on their own. I attempted to laminate them…but when that didn’t stick, I opted to cover them with clear contact paper. That makes them look less cute…but more durable!

Place Cards for Tea

First up are the place cards I created for tea. I originally created a large card…but thought that would be a bit much. So I refined it and created a smaller place card.

tea place cards in two sizesThe paper I used for this place card is from K & Company. I distressed the edges with scissors and with tim holtz distress ink.

I used a sizzix swirl die plate on my cuttlebug. Then used some quickutz alphabets and spellbinders  rectangle scallops for the label.

Oh, and the ribbon is from creative impressions.

If you look really closely at the smaller card, you’ll see that the swirl acts as a divider for two different decorative papers. There is a lighter brown paper on the bottom left corner and a darker brown on the top right corner.

This item was fairly flat, no brads or gems, so that I could cover with contact paper. I didn’t want anything that would snag or tear.

Place Cards for Lemonade

Now, the lemonade was more of a challenge. The word is quite long! The face of the place cards measure 4″ x 2.5″. So there’s not a ton of room for letters. But still I opted for a chunky letter so the tag would be easy to read.

place card for lemonadeThe clear contact paper kind of hides or distorts the cute distressing on the card.

First I ran a piece of brown cardstock through the cuttlebug using a texture plate. I then distressed the raised elements with Tim Holtz white paint.

I also created the teal daisy with a quickutz plate. And I used the same letter plate for this card that I used on the tea place card.

Again, the edges are disgressed with scissors and ink.

Place Card for Water

The last place card I’ll share is the one my sister and I created for water. It was a team project. She originally designed a large card…but I trimmed it down to fit the 4″ x 2.5″ format.

place card for waterAs you can see, I distressed the paper. Use the cuttlebug. This time the paper has a decorative edge from the labels 8 die plate from spellbinders.

This design is on the simple side.

My goal, as I said earlier, was to create cards that are easy to read and would help keep the beverage line moving.

I hope these inspire you to create beautiful custom place cards for your next potluck or party.

3 Comments

  1. Carole C said,

    August 30, 2010 at 05:38

    Very elegant and so usful. I like them all but my favorite is the lemonade one.

  2. Jennifer said,

    November 21, 2010 at 17:34

    YOU ARE AN INSPIRATION!!!!!
    These are so gorgeous, I love your entire blog!

    I am in the process of making your bride-and-groom card! Thanks for a fantastic idea!

    Keep up the posts!!!

  3. Vickie McKnight said,

    December 1, 2010 at 10:38

    Yeah! I am so glad you put these up on the blog. There were incredible and I am blessed by your creativity. God made you an Artist…how cool!!!


Leave a Reply

