Mother Daugher Stamping

My mother and I got together to do a bit of stamping. We wanted some birthday cards, anniversary cards and get well soon cards. A tall order for one afternoon!

First – My Creations

I’ve seen a lot of large scalloped circle cards. Below you’ll see quite a few variations on that theme.

You’ll notice I have two very different styles here. The Get Well card (for my 98 year old grandmother) is a simple design. Solid papers and clean line images. I love the tone on tone of the greens. The birdcage card (a happy birthday card) is one of those “more is better” type cards. I distressed the edges of everything with Tim Holtz distress ink. Of course, bling finishes off both cards!

I’m sure you’re going to think I’m crazy. But I couldn’t resist creating a bright birthday card for a niece or nephew. This is definitely not my traditional style, but sometimes you want something that appeals to someone elses style.

Do young children have style other than a love for bright and colorful? I’m hoping not…cause the only thing going for this card is the color! =)

Believe it or not, I did color the image with Copics. This is a Stampin’ Up Stamp. Most likely it’s retired…but it’s a new stamp for me.

I was also playing around with my “simple” style. Here I used some shiney brown paper and added a simple horizontal line and flower.

I love how “white space” can really add strength to the focal point. Not sure if I successfully accomplished that here. But I thought it was fun.

I think this also may be the first time I’ve adde 3D flowers to my cards. I mail all my cards…so they have to be fairly flat.

My Mom’s Creations

Here’s a peek at what my mom created. She made her own version of the large scallop circle card. She opted for the more simple version…with lots of gems.

She created two other card following a layout she saw in an old issue of Paper Crafts Magazine. That’s a great way to get inspiration.

We had a nice time creating cards. I hope you enjoy creating some, too!

1 Comment

  1. Vickie McKnight said,

    December 1, 2010 at 10:41

    I sent a scalloped round card to my young adult in Romania. I like different shapes to cards and I like the ones you and your Mom did. I also like the BRIGHT card for the kids. Does that mean I am a kid at heart?!!!


Leave a Reply

