Coloring with Copics – Girlfriends Card

Coloring with Copics – Girlfriends Card

Coloring with Copics is a lot of fun and it adds a lot of depth to our homemade stamped cards. I’d like to show you how I colored this girlfriends card.

Girlfriends Card Colored with Copics

The layout for the card is very traditional. I think the colors make it fresh and fun. I did use a bit of tone on tone in the green accent layer. But I went more vibrant with some of the other colors.

The girlfriends stamp is from Rusty Pickle. The saying and background stamps are from Hero Arts. I used Tuxedo Black Memento Ink for girls and sentiment. I used Tim Holtz Distress ink for the green. And I used Copics to color the image.

Coloring with Copics – Shading: A Side by Side Comparison

Let’s begin by looking at a side-by-side comparison of a card colored with shading and one without.

Two cards: one shaded with copics on not shaded

Can you se the difference? At this size, you may not be able to tell. The hair is one area where shading adds volume. Copics can really be subtle yet powerful. I think the card on the right just looks more finished.

Coloring with Copics – The First Layer

There are a couple of different techniques when coloring with Copics. Don’t take me too literally here because I haven’t taken any classes yet. But I’m told there are several techniques. So far I’ve only used two.

The technique I’m using here is to add shading without blending. Let me point out that I colored the entire card before doing any shading. I simply used the lightest color I wanted for each element. Later I will add darker colors for shading. 

the base layer colored with copics

Coloring with Copics – Adding Shading

Generally when you’re coloring with copics you want the shaded areas to blend. But for this card, I opted for a harder line with the shadow color. I think it works primarily because the shadow color is close enough to the base layer. And it also works because the elemnts are small.

Shading added to card with copics

Let me give you one more close up….see if you can find the darker colors.

coloring close up

Ok…so let’s test your coloring with copics skills. Do you see the shading in the following:

  • hair
  • face
  • shirt
  • pants
  • mugs

I’m sure you spotted all of those…but there are a couple more things I’d like to point out. Coloring with Copics makes it easy to ground your figures. I used two shades of grey to give shadows to the image. Do you see the grey under their feet and under the chairs and table?

The other perk about coloring with copics is that you can give the stamped image a shadow or a glow. In this case, I colored a light blue on the left and bottom side of all the outside lines. Some people color around all the outside lines.

The copic markers are Set A from the Ciao series. I love this set because it gives you many shades and takes all the guess work out of trying to decide what colors you need. But, of course, now I am drooling over Set B! =)

2 Comments

  1. Angela B. said,

    July 25, 2010 at 17:25

    Once again another great card by you! Love it! Thanks for the shading techniques!!

  2. July 30, 2010 at 01:09

    Educate children and granulation colors to them is the responsibility of all of us.
    Thanks for this post useful


Leave a Reply

