Stampin Up Under the Stars Birthday

Stampin’ Up Under the Stars Birthday Series

The Stampin’ Up “Under the Stars” stamp set has been out a long time…but I recently bought the set and am just now getting around to making some homemade masculine birthay cards with them! I’m not sure how masculine they are since the stamps are soooo cute. But here’s my interpretation of guy cards!

Birthday Cards using Stampin Up Under the Stars Stamp Set

When I sat down to stamp these birthday greeting cards, my goal was to create simple cards that have a rectangular scene. I didn’t want busy background paper. I wanted simple yet well thought out designs. Something where every element added value.

As I stamped, I found that I was using colors that popped off the brown base card. This really surprised me since I tend to gravitate to tone on tone designs. I’m thrilled that these turned out so colorful.

All the cards are stamped with Black Memento ink so that I could color them with Copics. I also used Tim Holtz Distress Ink to distress the edges. I primarily used Stampin’ Up stamps but did add a few others that I had on hand.

Stampin’ Up Under the Stars – Bear Birthday

The first card I created was a birthday card with the bear. I love this guy. The layout reminds me of a poloraid picture – do you remember those?

Birthday Card with Bear Inside the Bear Birthday Card

The grass on this card is actually a pine branch. I didn’t have a grass stamp…so I improvised! With the addition of distressing, this looks like an outdoor scene. The red sleeping bag really pops due to the color and the 3D dimensional tape.

Inside I added the mesquito and skeeter spray stamps. It definitely adds a bit of whimsy to the inside.

Stampin’ Up Under the Stars Racoon Birthday

The next masculine birthday card I created was the racoon. He’s also dang cute. Racoon Birthday Card

Inside the Racoon CardThough I love the bear, I decided to try to use the other stamps in the set. What do the racoon and mesquito have in common? They are both pests? That’s true, but I combined them because I could…no other real reason! =)

I pulled the same stamps inside the card. The flowers are some old Stampin’ Up stamps.

Don’t you think distressing the card makes it look more fun? And more like nature? That appeals to some men, my husband especially.

Stampin Up Under the Stars – Racoon and Beans Birthday

Ok, so beans aren’t the most appropriate Birthday food, but they would be for a racoon, I suspect. For my third card I couldn’t resist having the racoon heating up some beans.

Racoon toasting beans birthday card Inside the Racoon Bean Card

To give the illusion of a fire, I simply distressed the bottom left corner with yellow and orange ink. I don’t have a fire stamp and was too lazy to pull out my die cut fire.

A special thank you to my husband for suggesting that I add a moon and a couple more stars. I forgot that I had the moon stamp. I agree with him that they help create an evening setting.

Stampin Up Under the Stars – Mesquito Birthday

The last card I created with the mesquito and skeeter spray. They are definitely appropriate for a summer birthday card. Though Colorado doesn’t have too many bugs…the mesquitos are always attracted to my husband. He must be especially sweet.

Birthday Card with Mesquito and Bug Spray

Racoon InsideFor a touch of whimsy I decided to color the mesquito like a lady bug! I was tired of coloring him with grey’s and opted for something bright!

I really wanted some sort of crazy saying to go with it…but I guess Iwasn’t feeling too zany. So I opted to just stamp the birthday greeting.

I accidently created a white card that was vertical instead of horizontal for the inside. So I had to trim that down and then it seemed ackward to have a small squarish interior. So I opted to throw in a splash of red cardstock to make up for my mistake.

There you are. A set of 4 masculine birthday cards using primarily one set – the Stampin’ Up “Under the Stars” set. The only thing that would make this better would be to create a box to hold them. Then it could be a gift set. Hmmm…maybe I should create a box in the shape of a tent!

7 Comments

  1. Deborah said,

    July 21, 2010 at 06:49

    Absolutely love these! I want to bookmark it so I can remember them. They are perfect. Can’t think of one thing to change. Love the colors. Love the stamp choice. Love the layout. Nice job.

  2. September 21, 2010 at 09:27

    Just beautiful! You have motivated me to try something new!

  3. teri said,

    October 23, 2010 at 17:17

    where can you buy this set:
    Stampin’ Up “Under the Stars” stamp set

  4. Vickie McKnight said,

    December 1, 2010 at 10:48

    Wow! As I look at these, I want to plan a stamping day for the ladies at church. You are so brilliant-so what do you think? Not about your brilliance, but about a stamping day? 🙂

  5. clara perelka said,

    February 16, 2011 at 08:59

    Luv the cards, can’t wait to try them.
    creativity…never ceases to amaze me.

  6. SHELLEY ANDERSON said,

    March 29, 2011 at 13:12

    AWESOME!

  7. Anonymous said,

    June 17, 2011 at 07:17

    These are beautiful! Love this set…you really have brought it to life!


Leave a Reply

