Birthday Card for Grandma

Birthday Card for Grandma – the Big 95!

My grandmother is turning 95 in a couple of weeks. My mom and sister came over to make cards for her. She has lost most of her eyesight…so not sure how much of the detail she will be able to see with her magnifying machine. We enjoyed making cards for her. I’ve posted them all here for you to see. It’s amazing how diverse our cards are!

I opted for a sunflower theme. I made a giant sized card. This is 8.5 x 5.5. I made a custom envelope for her card, as well. I colored in the large sunflower stamp with copics. I opted not to blend…but to leave the three different shades of yellow be more chunky looking. The Happy Birthday greeting is a stamp from My Sentiments Exactly. The Swirl Die is from Sizzix. The 95 are QuicKutz letters. Not sure who makes the paper.

Here you can see a close up of some of the details of the card. I added gems and used a bit of puffy tape (dimensionals) to give the sunflower some depth.

Inside I left a very large open space so I can write a large handwritten note.

I also brought a few pieces of paper from the front of the card to the inside. I just adore this wood fence paper. I think I originally bought it for a masculine card…so it’s kind of funny to me that I used it on a card for my grandmother! I think the sunflowers help off set the masculine feel of the wood.

Maybe I thought the weathered wood would be appropriate for someone turning 95. The wood illustrates the passage of time. What do you think? Good touch or no?

One thing I failed to add to the card is ribbon. Hmm…does it need that little extra touch of fabric to take it to the next level? Too bad I already sealed the envelope!

Birthday Card for Grandma – My Mom’s Card

My mom selected a beautiful green paper with pink flowers for her card. She said the paper just seemed appropriate for someone older. Regardless of age, I agree it is beautiful.

We hand made the flower. It is four scallop circle punches folded in quarters with the centers all being covered up with the button.

Inside my mom’s birthday card to her mother-in-law she stamped a birthday greeting. Same stamp I used, which is from My Sentiments Exactly. She also used a very old stamp from an old stampin’ up set. I am shocked and pleasantly surprised to see this stamped dusted off and put to good use. I’m thrilled that it coordinates so well! Who knew! =)

No coloring of the stamp, though. I think my mom was afraid she might not stay in the lines or something. Or maybe she likes the look of the black ink on the pale blue paper. It does look nice just as it is.

Birthday Card for Grandma – Deborah’s Card

My twin sister was the first to complete her project. That said, she did spend a good chunk of time on it.

The leafs and butterfly part of the card is cute enough to be an ATC. But, we aren’t into making those. This one was specifically created for this birthday greeting. I love all the distressing that she did with various Tim Holtz Distress Inks.

Inside, Deborah put as much thought and care into distressing and stamping. The green flowers that offset the red are a nice touch. I’m going to have to try to remember that technique for a future card.

When it was all said and done, we made a fine mess of the dining room table…and had a nice time being creative.

Thanks for looking.

1 Comment

  1. Vickie McKnight said,

    December 1, 2010 at 10:56

    These three cards are all very neat. Your Mom’s looks almost Victorian and your sissy’s looks like a day in the park. Yours is so alive! It reminds me of walks through the neighborhood in summer time!


Leave a Reply

