Baby Pooh & Friends Card

Baby Pooh & Friends Baby Shower Card

There’s something special about homemade baby cards for baby showers. The card gets passed around, people ohh and ahh over it. It makes the effort totally worth it.

Baby Shower Card Cover

My nephew and wife are having a baby soon. Several family members went together on a Pooh print all-in-one car seat/stroller for the baby shower gift. I created a card using the wrapping paper pooh and friends.

As you can see, I simply cut out Winnie the Pooh from the wrapping paper. I adhered him to a piece of shiney teal/blue paper. Then attached that to a lilac piece of cardstock.

I went gender neutral on the card because we do not know if they are having a boy or a girl.

Card untied and slightly openWhen the ribbon is untied and the card is slighly open, you can see that I created a mini book. There are four panels to the card.

I was originally going to make a separate panel for each couple that contributed toward the gift….but couldn’t figure out how to make size pannels using one piece of 12×12 strip. So I settled for the four pannels.

If you look closely, I notched out a half circle on the right most panel to allow the ribbon to attach to the cover.

Bible VerseI wanted to let the new mother know that children are a blessing. So I printed out a Bible verse. Psalm 127:3 says, “Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him.”

 I framed that with the same teal blue paper from the front. The little butterfly on the verse is from the pooh and friends wrapping paper. The circle on the cover and the inside right panel is a QuicKutz die.

All four panels

Instead of having one panel for each family that contributed to the gift, I simply printed them out. The center two panels each list three families that contributed to the gift. Again, all the images are from the wrapping paper.

This is the first time I’ve used wrapping paper as my main focal point. I think it turned out cute. Maybe I should be scoping out the wrapping paper aisle more frequently!

1 Comment

  1. janet said,

    May 17, 2010 at 11:13

    utterly fantastic, what an original idea keep them coming.


Leave a Reply

