Stamping Workshop

I’m giving away Copic Markers. Check out my blog candy.

Stamping Workshop – Four Cards – Four Techniques

I was invited to lead a stamping workshop for 48 ladies at a women’s retreat this past weekend. I had no information about whether the ladies had any stamping experience. So I needed to keep things simple, yet inspiring. What a great time….and a lot of prep work!

Four cards at workshop

Four distinct cards using four different techniques

The theme of the weekend was “The Sweet Life”. The images that were used to represent that theme included coffee, candy and feminine (such as lipstick, jewelry, etc). So, I taylored some of my cards to incorporate those images. The trick was to create cards that would keep the ladies at their tables (no stations) and that would be economical. Wow, that’s tough for a gal that likes her copic markers and lots of layers.

Stamping Workshop – Card #1 – Regular Stamping

coffee card in brown and daisy's

One of the favorites - coffee!

One of the favorites was this coffee card. It involves staight stamping and assembling.

I did add a bow using ribbon from Creative Impressions. It’s attached with a glue dot.

The gems really finish the card.

I went a bit untraditional with the greeting. Instead of framing the entire greeting with the gold paper, I just used small pieces to accent the left and right. It almost makes the greeting look like it’s enclosed in brackets!

Coffee Card – Supplies

  • Coffee stamps: TPC Studio
  • Paper: The Best of Kay & Company
  • Gold: The Paper Company
  • Brown: Reem from Xpedx
  • Ribbon: Creative Impressions
  • Gems & glue dots

Stamping Workshop – Card #2 – Embossing & Alternate Use of Punch

So sweet card in blue and pink and brown

So Sweet - baby or thank you card

I have seen quite a few cards lately using candy. Since the theme of the retreat is “the sweet life” I couldnt’ resist having the ladies make a sweet card.

I did not have a stamp with a candy verse, so I printed the words “so sweet” on my printer. I actually pre embossed everything because I only have one embossing machine (cuttlebug). I taught the ladies how to create rounded corners using a circle punch.

So Sweet Card – Supplies

  • Stamp: Studio G
  • Embossing: Cuttlebug
  • Pink Paper: The Paper Company
  • Brown and Blue: Reems from Xpedx
  • Ribbon: Creative Impressions

Stamping Workshop – Card #3 – Distressing

You're a Doll pink dress on white

You're a Doll - thinking of you or thank you card

Here is the card that’s the most feminine of them all. I created something similar to this for my sisters princess bridal shower. The ladies seemed to enjoy this one.

Again, I did not have a stamp that said “You’re a Doll” so I just printed it out on my printer.

My husband thought it too pink. And I really was beginning to question whether to bring it to the retreat. But it was one of the top picks of favorites.

To distress the edges we simply used sponges dabbed in distress ink.

You’re a Doll Card – Supplies

  • Stamp: My Sentiments Exactly
  • Ink: Tim Holtz Distress Ink
  • Gems and Sponge

Stamping Workshop – Card #4 – Paper Piecing

Simple Happy Birthday

Simple Happy Birthday - Could modify for feminine or masculine

Ok, I must confess, I got this card layout from the Paper Crafts Magazine March/April 2010 issue. I love the simple design.

We used a bit of pink decorative paper on the bottom of the white strip and on the frosting.

A few of the ladies asked why we didn’t just use markers on the cupcake. Great question. My answer – to bring the pink from the bottom up to the top.

Yes, I suppose markers could work. Guess I just like to make things a bit more complicated!

Simply Happy Birthday Card – Supplies

  • Stamp: Studio G
  • Paper: The Best of Kay & Company
  • Rafia
  • Ink: Black Versafine, markers
  • Paper: Craft and White – reems from Xpedx
Leave a Reply

