Homemade Wedding Card

I’m giving away Copic Markers. Check out my blog candy.

Homemade Wedding Card – the Classic Bride and Groom

Today’s homemade wedding card is a classic take on the bride and groom – with this tux and dress image. I have used these quite a few times. I guess the possibilities are endless! Again, I don’t remember where I first saw this idea of a dress and tux. It is not my original, but I sure love it!

homemade wedding card

homemade wedding card - black, white and silver are great classic colors

This one is so simple to make. You can change it up by using wedding colors if you happen to know them. This wedding card is 5  1/2″ x 5  1/2″ square. I just layered on various cardstock. Silver layer measures 5  1/4  x  5  1/4. White paper with silver swirls measures 5  1/8 x 5  1/8. Next silver layer measures 4 x 4. Matte black layer measurse 3  7/8 x 3  7/8.

Wedding card inside

Inside the wedding card is simple yet elegant

I simply stamped the dress stamp on the back side of some sparkly white paper. Cut out and attached to the black. I stamped it a second time and cut out just the skirt part and created a second layer to the dress. I used double stick tape at the waist and puffy tape at the bottom of the skirt to give it dimension only at the bottom. Of course, no card is complete without out some sparkles. I added silver gems to the dress and the left and right side of the card.

The tux shirt I created free hand. You can download my tux shirt template on my wedding card template post. The lapels and bow tie are also free hand. The buttons and knot from bow tie are from a mini hole punch and glued to the shirt.

Inside I added a layer of silver (5 x 5) and accented it with swirl silver and white paper (1  1/2 x 4  3/4) and a section of white paper for writing a note (3  1/4 x 4  3/4). I covered the seam where the two papers meet with thin white ribbon.

wedding card front
Here’s the wedding card straight on

Homemade Wedding Card – Supplies:

  • Dress Stamp: My Sentiments Exactly
  • Tux Template: Available on my other wedding card template post
  • White paper with silver swirls: Jo-Ann
  • White sparkle Paper – Jo-Ann
  • Black and Silver paper: Reems at Xpedx
  • Silver Gems
  • Thin white ribbon
3 Comments

  1. April 4, 2010 at 22:01

    […] Homemade Wedding Card « Stamping With Princess […]

  2. Samantha Jicha said,

    June 1, 2011 at 07:39

    My sister Jenny is getting married next May and I need a perfect wedding card to make her. If you have any ideas please leave a comment on my email at samantha.jicha@rocketmail.com.

  3. July 21, 2013 at 21:44

    Thanks for publishing this information within your website.


Leave a Reply

