Coffee Cards and Tutorial

I’m giving away Copic Markers. Check out my blog candy.

Coffee Cards – Thanks a Latte

Coffee cards are timely given the craze over coffee. These cards make great thank you cards, as I’ve created here with the “Thanks a Latte” stamp from My Sentiments Exactly.

Before I get into all the details, I just want to remind you about the blog candy I have. I’m giving away copic markers.

Coffee Cards

Coffee Cards in browns and greens

These coffee cards may look a bit complicated to make, but are really quite simple. I’ve created them with rectangles and ovals. I used a Coluzzle, but they can also be created with punches or creative memories oval cutters.

I used darker papers as the backdrop to the cups so that the cups would pop. I also used puffy tape (dimensionals) to make the card pop even more. To make the cup more realistic I have used some Tim Holtz Distress Ink to give the edges some shadow. It makes the cups look 3 dimensional.

Coffee Cards – Video Tutorial

I created a video tutorial on how to make the coffee cards. I did speed up the video so the tutorial isn’t too painfully long to watch!


Coffee Cards – Instructions

Let me describe in a bit more detail how I created the card.

I start with a piece of 8.5 x 11 dark green cardstock. Fold in half and stamp the hero arts background stamp with brown ink. I distressed the edges with brown ink.

Next I punched out a scalloped edge using fiskars punch on the outer edge.

I lined the inside of the card with a piece of dark brown cardstock. It measures 1 x 5.5.

Next, cut out a piece of lighter green cardstock to 2 x 4.25. I distressed the edges with brown ink.

I cut out a piece of decorative cardstock using a Spellbinders Labels 8 die cut. I used the second largest die cut. I punch small holes on the sides near the point. I use eyelets or grommets to set the holes. I wrap some brown cord threw the eyelets and around the light green cardstock and attach with tape.

Cut the cup out of light cream cardstock to 2 x 3. Trim a tiny triangle off the right and left side to create the cup shape. Distress the sides with two light tan colors of distress ink.

Cut an oval from white cardstock using the third smallest oval on the coluzzle to create the lid. Distress edges using two shades of tan distress ink.

Then, cut 1/4 of the largest oval on white cardstock. Move the coluzzle down about 1/4 inch and cut the same length again. You will have two parallel cuts. This will create the bottom portion of the lid. The part that would snap onto the cup. Distress the edges using two shades of tan distress ink.

Hold the oval behind cup. Align the snap portion of the lid on top of the cup. Trim the right and left side of the lid pieces to be a tiny bit larger than the cup. Trim the oval a bit more so none shoes around the cup.

Cut 1/4 of the largest oval coluzzle on craft cardstock. Move the coluzzle down about 3/4 inch and cut the same length again. You will have two parallel cuts. Run the stip through a crinkler. Trim to be a little larger than the cup.

Create light green oval using 2nd smallest oval shape on coluzzle. Stamp “Thanks a Latte” (My Sentiments Exactly) using brown ink. Distress edges.

Adhere all your pieces. Using brown marker, create sippy whole in lid.

Tie a little bow using brown cord. Adhere with glue dot. Note: I fold the glue dot in half for small bows).

Coffee Cards Supply List

Stamps

  • My Sentiments Exactly
    Thanks a Latte (red rubber)
  • Hero Arts
    Flourish Background – clings CG119

Inks

  • Stampin’ Up
    Chocolate Chip
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink
    Antique Linen
    Old Paper
    Tea Dye
    Vintage Photo
    Walnut Stain
  • Marvy Marker
    dark brown #18

Papers

  • The Paper Company
    Botanical Fashion Colors Value Pack (greens & cream)
  • DCWV
    Safari
  • Georgia Pacific
    white cardstock

Dies and Shapes

  • Cuttlebug
    plate B & C
  • Spellbinders
    Nestabilities Labels Eight (second largets)
  • Coluzzle
    Oval Tempalte
  • Fiskars Punch
    scallop punch
  • Crinkler
    small
  • Making Memories
    eyelet setter

Accessories

  • Creative Impressions
    Brown cord
  • Eyelets
    brown or metal colored
1 Comment

  1. Vickie said,

    March 19, 2010 at 09:15

    You are an endless idea machine, Dana! These cards are so cute in a masculine and feminine way…I LIKE ‘EM!


Leave a Reply

