Homemade Birthday Card in Soft White

Homemade Birthday Card in Soft White

***Special note***this homemade birthday card in all of it’s soft white and blue (or teal) has been strongly inspired by flutterbyatomicbutterfly. You simply must look at her original.

I simply love the soft rich elegance of this card. 

Soft and Rich Homemade Birthday Wishes

I couldn’t resist making two of these cards. One is slightly more blue. The other more teal. One has a more bold graphic element, the other has smaller detailed type elements. Which do you prefer?

There is a layer of white paper that is embossed with a cuttlebug embossing plate. The circle is cut out using a QuicKutz die on the cuttlebug. The circle and scalloped circle in the middle are from punches. The brown ribbon is from Creative Impressions and is sandwiched between the circle layers then adhered to the card on the sides near the tails. This allows the circle punches to float in the opening.

This first card (the teal) is made using stamps from a clear acrylic set from Hero Arts. Some buttons and gems finish off the card.

The inside is simple and straight forward. Just some butterflies decorate the bottom.

I decided I wanted to make the card again and use more of a baby blue paper – to more closely imitate the original.

I couldn’t leave well enough alone, so I also used some Tim Holtz distress ink around the outer edges of the card. I also used different stamps (I’m not sure who makes them cause I think my sister has the set). But I wanted to see what the card would look like with a smaller image in the circle.

Inside the blue I stamped “Warmest Wishes” (from My Sentiments Exactly) in brown and I added a butterfly. I also distressed the edges inside.

Love this card a lot. Think it will be one I make several more of for family birthday cards.

2 Comments

  1. February 15, 2010 at 10:59

    I love these! I like the stamps that you chose and all of your extra details! Your email you sent me was so sweet! Thank you for all of the kind words and I am glad that you enjoy my blog. It means a lot to me! Have fun and happy stamping! Hugs, Kelly

  2. Vickie said,

    March 30, 2010 at 21:30

    So pretty in that really girly way 🙂


Leave a Reply

