Distressed Art

Distress as Art

I was pleasantly surprised a few weekends ago when my husband decided to spend a little time with me in my craft room (a.k.a. the dining room). I showed him a couple techniques Tim Holtz uses to distress paper and away he went!

We played around with distressing and embossing for a couple of hours. A few pieces of the distressed/embossed paper particularly caught our attention so we made a few cards.

Teamwork: my husband distressed, I embossed and created a card

We used Tim Holtz distress ink to create the pink and brown colors. Then we ran the strip of distressed paper through a cuttlebug embossing plate. We also ran a pink distress ink pad across the top to highlight the embossing. Too cute!

Similar to the first card, husband distressed paper with ink and I embossed and created the card

Here my husband played around with red and yellow inkpads. I used the same embossing plate but a different portion of it. Again, we ran the red ink pad across the raised embossed portion of the card. I added some Creative Impressions swirl ribbon. I used a Making Memories slot punch to create a slot for the ribbon.

These bits of distressed and embossed paper practically look like bits of artwork!

Completely man made distressed card

Let me give credit where credit is due. My husband made 100% of this card. He chose a piece of distressed paper that he liked. He attempted to bleach the words “thank you” but instead it made a big bleach puddle. So he filled in the puddle with a red thank you. Quite an interesting effect. He loved it and it gave me a better picture of what a masculine card should look like.

We played around for a couple hours distressing paper. Most of the papers were about 2″ x 3″. So nearly all the papers he distressed will lend themselves to mini artwork type projects. Here is a shot of our handiwork.

A distressed mess

And the master at work.

Ronnie holds up a distressed masterpiece

Here you can see the special Tim Holtz mat we used to create the distressed papers. My husband simply ran the distress ink pads across the plastic mat, spritzed with water and rubbed the paper on the ink/water droplets.

Thank you sweetheart!

2 Comments

  1. February 13, 2010 at 07:28

    […] with Tim Holtz black distress ink because my husband loves the distressed look. (Check out my husband distressing paper). My one accent that I’m not sure about is the giant sized […]

  2. Vickie said,

    March 30, 2010 at 21:37

    You guys are too cute…I like the card…very masculine.


Leave a Reply

