Homemade Thank You Flowers and Tag Punch

Homemade Stampin’ Up Thank You Card with Flowers, Jewelry Tag Punch and Scallop Trim Punch

As a small token of my appreciation, I handmade some thank you cards for the gals who came to my stamping retreat and purchased some product at my Stampin’ Up party. This is another one of those cards that I literally had a vision for, albeit a very rough draft of a vision. I saw a strip in the center of a card with multiple colored 3D items. Not necessarily a new layout, but something that inspired me to get up and create. I think there is something similar in one of the new Stampin’ Up catalogs, but the vision I saw somehow enabled me to create the card you see here.

homemade thank you card with tag and scallop trim punch

The flowers are from a 2004 Stampin’ Up set (I just inherited). They are cut out and 3D. The buttons are from a random collection and they have scrappers floss tied through them. The yellow button is strung to the new jewelry tag from Stampin’ Up. Love it! The green is punched with the new scallop trim punch (only my second border punch – can you believe it!). The Thank You sentiment is from Denami. All the colored ink is Tim Holtz Distress ink. Black is Memento.

I created the card a second time distressing the edges so that it wasn’t soo stark white. Check it out.

Distressed Version

A bit of distressing to calm the stark whiteness

Not sure if you can tell, but I distressed the white paper with green. I also distressed the flowers a bit more. For instance, the yellow flower was distressed on the edge with red ink which when added to yellow turns orange. Not sure the distressing shows up in the photo all that well.

So, which do you prefer?   I thought I would prefer the distressing. Seems that’s all I do these days. But when it was all said and done, I decided that I prefer the white. It has a clean crisp look about it. It also seems more simple – which is my new desired style.

Anyhoo, I have created 5 cards so far. I think they are fun and not too complicated!

2 Comments

  1. Nadeen said,

    February 5, 2010 at 19:18

    Adorable! ADORABLE!
    I love them all! I can’t decide!!!

  2. Vickie said,

    March 30, 2010 at 21:42

    These are just too cute!


Leave a Reply

