Homemade Birthday Cards Labels 8

Homemade Birthday Cards using Labels 8 Die

The Spellbinders label die cuts are amazing! I’ve had my eye on Labels 8 for a long time. I think it looks very similar to a Stampin’ Up die. I’ve seen sooo many cute projects that were made using the label shape that I put it on my Christmas list and woo hoo – I got it! (Thank you DC and Mary – that’s my brother and his wife).

I recently held a stamping retreat. Invited all my friends and family to attend. The night before the last day of the stamping retreat I got a vision for using my new labels 8 dies. I could hardly wait to rush over to my sisters house to start creating!

labels 8 birthday cards

Here are the first two cards I created using my new Spellbinders Labels 8 die cut shapes. My vision the night before I made these was to use pink and white paper. Hmmm….red is close to pink. Though not like I envisioned, I’m still happy with these cards.

Close-up of Poppy Birthday Card 1

My new goal in stamping is to create simple cards. Time is becoming more valuable, but more importantly, I love simple elegance.

In this first card, I decided to stamp the poppy (Stampin’ Up, I believe) right on top of the white and red. What’s funny is that I couldn’t figure out what type of flower this was until after I colored it. It looks just like the poppy’s I had in my garden last year….which I love!

I colored the flower using my Copic markers. I added the birthday wishes stamp (My Sentiments Exactly), some ribbon and gems. Not sure if it shows up, but I also used a glitter pen on the yellow of the flower.

Close-up of Poppy Birthday Card 2

I decided to use the left over scraps of white and red and try another variation of the poppy card. Here ya go.

This card did not meet my goal of simplicity! It’s not too complex, but still took more time than the first card. First of all, I sewed on the card. My second card ever to sew on (as you can tell by looking at the top right corner!). Secondly, I colored the flowers then cut them out and used puffy tape to adhere to the card. I created a tag, which makes for extra step number three.

All in all it’s still a fairly simple card and I like it.

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    June 23, 2011 at 15:19

    These cards are so beautiful…I wish I could make something like that.
    🙂

  2. Anonymous said,

    June 23, 2011 at 15:20

    AWESOME!!!!
    😀


Leave a Reply

