Homemade Baby Boy Card Thank You Set

Homemade Baby Boy Card Thank You Set

I recycled big time for this homemade baby boy card thank you set. This truly was a joint effort. My sister had the vision for the belt buckle and layout. I contributed the denim, paper selection and the stamp selection. We had purchased a bag of belt buckles at a garage sale…and they have sat in the stamping cabinet for months. I was just about to toss out an old pair of jeans (which happened to rip in a very inappropriate spot!). But our creativity melded together just in time for a baby shower gift for my next door neighbor who is having a baby boy in ten weeks.

Homemade Baby Boy Card Thank You Set – The Card

baby boy card with brown belt and buckle

Front of the Baby Boy Card for the Thank You Set

baby boy card inside

Baby Boy Card Inside

A quick note about this baby boy card and thank you set. The base paper is brown – purchased in a reem at Xpedx. The denim is an old pair of jeans cut with pinking sheers then frayed. The striped paper is DCWV from some paper pack. The ribbon I bought in a spool at Xpedx. To make the belt, we actually taped two strips of brown ribbon to a piece of paper to give the belt shape and to make it double wide because we didn’t have any wide ribbon that looked nice with the buckle! We added gromets to the ribbon to make it look like a belt. And used scrappers floss to tie on the little thank you tag.

Can you mail these cards? Maybe if you used a bubble envelope. Otherwise, I’d recommend hand delivery.

Homemade Baby Boy Card – A Thank You Set

We made 10 of these cards for a thank you set. Then I needed a box to put them in. I was going to make a slide out box, but it would have taken four pieces of paper and I didn’t feel like making a huge piece of paper and folding it into a box. So, I opted for a card / book type contraption. I made this once before for another baby gift and really liked it. So, here you go!

Here is the inside of the gift box.

baby boy card thank you set inside full of cards

Cards tucked into the baby boy thank you set with one pulled out.

baby boy thank you card set empty

I decorated the back of the pockets

As you can see, the inside looks great whether the box is full of thank you cards or empty. I used acetate (write on transparency sheet) to create pockets to hold the thank you cards. I tape that to the brown card. Then I decorate the back of the panels to hide the tape from the transparency as well as to make the box look nice when it’s empty.

Now for the outside:

The outside of the baby boy thank you box when fully open

The box when fully open

 

baby boy thank you card box tied closed

View of the front and closure of the baby boy thank you card set

 

back of the baby boy card set

back and closure of the baby boy card set

 

spine of the baby boy card thank you set

spine of the baby boy thank you card set

Phew, that’s a lot of photos. You may or may not believe this, but I only used two pieces of decorative paper to create all 10 cards and the box. I used a lot of solid blue and brown to create the structure of the cards and box and to frame the white pieces. 

Not sure if you noticed how the brown ribbon ties are attached. I just folded over the brown ribbon, then used a little brad to attach them. I attached the brad prior to adhering the inside decorative panel…so the brad tines are hidden by the inside blue panel. I printed out the welcome baby on the spine in Word Art then colored with copics.

The stamp has a sticker on it that says, “1998 Embossing Arts Co.” I picked it up at a garage sale. I also colored that baby and carriage with my copics. Not sure it shows up, but I gave the baby some soft pink cheeks! The stamp has words below it that say “look who’s here…” but I decided to not use that part.

The thank you words are from a My Sentiments Exactly stamp set. I think that’s about everything.

The card are traditional card size, but I threw in some oversized envelopes due to the bulkiness of the belt buckles. I also threw in a book of stamps. Even if she doesn’t mail them…stamps are always needed! =)

I’m sure you’re wondering how long it took to make….too long! I’m pretty sure there’ s over 8 hours in this project. Hmmm…would have been cheaper just to buy a gift! But not nearly as fun! =)

4 Comments

  1. Deborah Bagley said,

    November 9, 2009 at 19:35

    Wow, this baby card set is adorable. I love the cards with the buckles. Makes them pop. The box they are in is also stunning. Love the layers and decorations behind the card holder. I’ll let you know when I have a baby. Can’t wait to see the cards you’ll make!

  2. helen said,

    November 12, 2009 at 18:14

    Lovely set! the boxes are awesome. The recycle jean was a great idea!

  3. Vickie said,

    January 28, 2010 at 19:10

    Okay, this is just stunning! Very, very extra-ordinary. You, are a genius!!!

  4. Zoe said,

    February 8, 2011 at 02:45

    it’s awesome works!!! just love it! =)


Leave a Reply

