Masculine Birthday Cards

All Natural Masculine Birthday Cards

I say all natural because the cards are made with greens and creams reminding me of nature. Today’s card is for a friend of mine who lives in Breckenridge, Colorado for his 40th. I guess I should have put a big 40 somewhere…but didn’t think of it in time. Oops.

masculine birthday

I was inspired to stamp half a cake by a card I saw a few months ago online that at first glance did something similar. Only upon closer scrutiny I noticed that the elements on the card were actually crowded, not cut off. Ah, well. It inspired me to use half the image. My husband thinks it’s weird. I like to think it’s modern! =)

The base is a natural, cream stock. Then I used two pieces of scrap green. And no masculine card would be complete with out some hardware. So I added two grommets.

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and venture to say that this card was my friends favorite. I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that it had birthday cash in it!

Here is a photo of another masculine card with slight modifications. I colored the cakes with copic markers. Distressed the edges with Tim Holtz distress ink. I used three different stamps.

Two Masculine Birthday Cards

2 Comments

  1. Vickie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 00:53

    Neat! I like the half image…it’s a whole new way to use your stamps. Hummm, what about upside down, or side ways or…oops Just thinking out loud here!

  2. helen said,

    November 6, 2009 at 00:35

    The half image cake was very creative. Love the colors combination.


Leave a Reply

