Homemade Christmas Cards in Purple

Homemade Christmas Cards in Purple

Today I want to show you three homemade Christmas cards in purple….and a hint of green I created with some old rubber stamps I had laying around. I was going for a “religious” theme. Christian theme, to be more exact. A big thank you goes out to my mom who helped me with the angel card. And since I bring it up, let’s start with that one.

angel with horn homemade christmas card in purple

My mom and I purchased this stamp several years ago…and have never been quite happy with any card we’ve created with it. But, we both like this card. I think it has a slight feminine feel to it…only because the angel is feminine.

I colored the image with copics. It’s embossed with silver and distressed with purple Distress Ink by Tim Holtz. I framed it with silver cardstock. It’s matted with purple paper that I stamped with white snowflakes using StazOn white ink. That’s matted with silver and adhered to white cardstock. The silver ribbon actually is a loop on the right and is how you open the card. The angel and left panel actually open to the left. The right panel is actually taped down on the top and bottom and is a gift card holder.

Here’s the gift card holder part.

gift card holder in the homemade christmas card in purple

The next card is my favorite. I think it’s the cute stamps and bold crisp images. My mom likes elegant so this is not her favorite. To each her own.

shephard on the homemade christmas card in purple and green

Here is where the hint of green comes in.

I used my copics to color in this image of the shephard. I cut out the oval using a spellbinder die. Then traced a black circle using the die as a guide. I framed the oval in two shades of green coordinations paper. Then added the two shades of purple. I have a puple brad on the right side which I use as a sort of closure for the card. I have a little piece of black Scrappers Floss as a tie that I wrap around the brad to keep the card closed.

Funny thing about this color combintation, it happens to be the company colors for my husbands work. Guess who’s getting this card….his coworkers! I’m contemplating creating a red and green variation as well for my friends and family.

You may be wondering why I used the coordinations paper for this project. It’s because Joann had their paper on sale last week for 5 for $0.95. Great price for something that is usually $0.60 each!

Here’s the inside. I think it’s adorable! The image of Jesus in the manger is a bit on the cutesy side. And I just adore it. Again I colored it in with copics. I cut it out using QuicKutz nesting circles. And pulled in some of the purple and green from the outside in. The greeting I created on my computer. The purple rectangle behind the manger is actually a gift card holder.

inside the homemade christmas card in purple and green is a gift card holder

The last card I made is using a stamp that I once again had trouble figuring out what to do with in the past. But I am pleased with how it turned out this time.

peace on earth words on a homemade christmas card in purpleI believe my mom would consider this more on the elegant side. She insisted that I used pearls on the four corners. I originally had silver brads there. Apparently that was too industrial looking for her taste! =)

This peace on earth stamp is from My Sentiments Exactly. I stamped it in purple using Tim Holtz distress ink. Then I distressed the edges using his purple ink. I framed it in light purple coordination paper. I have that matted with a deeper purple coordination paper that I ran through my cuttlebug using a swirl embossing plate. I then sanded the swirls to pull out the lighter purple core of the paper. I framed it on a piece of white cardstock that I also distressed the edges of using the purple ink. Oh, and wrapped a little sheer ribbon around for good measure.

I love, love, love these cards. Hmmm…not sure which one I’ll use this year. Knowing my personality, it’ll be the one that’s the most time consuming!

Hope you enjoy.

 

4 Comments

  1. Nadeen said,

    October 30, 2009 at 15:58

    i like the 3rd one best

  2. Vickie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 00:49

    These are all beautiful. I think the adition of the pearls was a great idea. I think you should make all three!!!!

  3. Vickie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 00:50

    That’s addition (isn’t it?). Or is it addittion!!!??? Just kidding 🙂

  4. helen said,

    November 6, 2009 at 00:32

    They are all lovely cards.


Leave a Reply

