Birthday Magic Box

3D Magic Box as Kit

The latest class I taught was available as a kit (offered at Simple Pleasures). Unfortunately, attendance was low, so it was only available as a kit. If anyone wants to get in on the fun, this kit is $25. It comes with complete instructions and nearly everything you’ll need to complete it.

And pictures? Well, those are available here, of course! =)

Magic Box in Green, pinks and yellows

Magic Box in Green, pinks and yellows

So, here’s the outside of the box. It’s a green box with pink accent and a yellow decorative paper that features pretty packages, bows and birds. This could be used for birthday, bridal shower, baby shower….because there are no words on it. If you need a gift, this is pretty generic. It would work for most any holiday or special occassion.

Magic Box Top - Gift Tag

Magic Box Top - Gift Tag

Can you see the glitter I added to two of the packages on the gift tag? I also put green bows on each side of the lid with 1/2″ green ribbon. And who doesn’t love a little bling! =)

Magic Box Gift Card Holder - Close UP

Magic Box Gift Card Holder - Close UP

Again, the packages on the gift card holder have glitter. And so do the ribbons on the side panels. Using a glue pen, I scribbled glue on the paper and sprinkled with glitter. How fun is that! Who needs a glitter stack when you can add glitter yourself! =)

Magic Box Side View

Magic Box Side View

Ok, this side view is very important. Notice the triangle support behind the gift card holder? Not too fancy. And how about the floating presents, do you see the transparency strips I used to hold those? And did you notice those packages have glitter, too?! These things aren’t too difficult, but they add a lot of interest. I made little slits in the center panel and slid the transparency in and secured with adhesive. Easy as can be.

So, for those who would like a few more photos on how it’s done, check these out.

Magic Box Taped and Ready to Go

Magic Box Taped and Ready to Go

With everything scored, cut and folder, here’s where you put the tape on the major pieces. Left is the gift card holder. Middle is the gift card holder support and to the right is the lid.

 
Magic Box Folds

Magic Box Folds

I’m guessing that some of the folds for the gift card holder and the gift card holder support may be tricky, especially for those first timers out there. So here are a couple of photos that I hope will help. The top picture is me tucking the side panel under the bottom part of the gift card holder. The bottom photo is me making a triangle support for the gift card holder.

Supply List:

  • 2 pieces 12×12 Green cardstock
  • 1 piece 12×12 pink cardstock
  • 1 piece 12×12 decorative paper (Heidi Grace)
  • white typing paper
  • gems
  • 1/2″ green grosgrain ribbon (Creative Impressions)
  • 1/8″ green grosgrain ribbon (Creative Impressions)
  • foam tape
  • double sided tape
  • single sided tape
  • craft knife
  • scor-pal
  • scissors
  • Quickie glue pen
  • glitter
  • acetate / transparency sheet
  • Zots
3 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    August 19, 2009 at 16:43

    Lovely. Love the floating presents. I know I asked you before about the transparency. I went and got myself some but they were thin. Are there different kind of transparency?

  2. mtnbikechk said,

    August 19, 2009 at 21:54

    Helen,
    I used the “write-on” transparency, but I think most any would work. And yes, I do believe there are different thicknesses.

    When I first attach them to the box, they pretty much lay flat. So I actually crease them at the base. I crease them in the opposite direction of where I want them to float. Then, if the crease is too much I crease it back to the way I want them to float. Not sure if that makes sense. Putting a kink / fold in the transparency helps them float better.

    Does that help?

  3. Vickie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 00:58

    This one gave me a headache. Just thinking of all the work that goes into something like this!! Very cool.


Leave a Reply

