Sunflower’s in Purple Greeting Card

Homemade Card – Sunflowers in Purple

OCC Color Challenge just happens to coincide with a card I made yesterday. Wow! How often does that happen? First time for me. So, here’s a card I created with a “new” used stamp my friend bought for me. And I chose to make it a birthday card because I use a lot of those.

Who knew yellow sunflowers would work on my tone on tone purple card?!

Who knew yellow sunflowers would work on my tone on tone purple card?!

One thing I loved right away about this stamp was that I could color it in with my copic markers. I’m not sure if it shows up, but I also used silver perfect pearls by Tim Holtz on the watering can. I also sponged Tim Holtz’s distress ink on the edges. This is also the first card I’ve created using Coredinations paper. Love that the core is a different color than the top.

I used a cuttlebug embossing plate to add a texture to the paper then sanded it a bit with a scrap piece of sandpaper. Love that a lighter shade of purple shows through. And I ripped the paper to also reveal the core. Love it!

A little something for the inside

A little something for the inside

My friend also had this adorable little dragonfly on hand. I have no idea who made it, but it looked like a pretty old stamp. But again, I thought it would be adorable colored with copics and make the perfect adornment for the inside of the card.

Ribbon and gems from my stash finish the card.

2 Comments

  1. Faye said,

    August 18, 2009 at 01:24

    Wow lovely work! You’re right about the dragonfly. It’s so pretty. I have a few Tim Holtz stamps and Tim Holtz distress in my kit. I got them from Christina’s Crafts. I might try making something like this. I’m getting confused with all the lovely work I see all over the Internet.

  2. Vickie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 01:01

    Yep! This is very fun. You’re a very good colorer…LOL! This card is way cute.


Leave a Reply

