Wedding Invitation Pocket Card

Wedding Invitation Pocket Card

It just hit me that I haven’t shown you the homemade wedding invitation pocket card I created for my nephew. Oops. I’ve shown you the:

The Wedding Invitation Pocket Card – The Unveiling

But alas, I have not shown you the wedding invitation. So without further delay, the invitation! Click for a larger view.

Front of Invitation. Blue is the pocket

Front of Invitation. Blue is the pocket

The invitation is printed on vellum. We discussed lots of options for attaching vellum, but decided to use my new corner punch to tuck each corner into the black cardstock. The cardstock is cut short on the right hand side to reveal the blue pocket inside. Not all of the pocket is revealed…but enough to bring the color to the front.

I actually stuggle designing with teal blue. So I was pleased with the end result. A special thank you to the bride, my mom and my sister for helping mass produce these invitatations. I think we made approximately 50 of them….I can’t remember.

Save the Date Card, Parking Pass and Map in the pocket.

Save the Date Card, Parking Pass and Map in the pocket.

I designed a parking pass, a save the date card and a map to the wedding and reception. They all fit into the interior pocket. My neice took pictures of the soon to be bride and groom for the save the date card. I use InDesign for my layout software.

A note on printing on vellum: I have a toner based printer, not an inkjet and it turns out great. I have had people tell me they have problems with the ink smudging with their ink jet printers. If you don’t have a toner based printer, you may want to consider having your vellum invitations printed at a copy center.

Note for reference: It would probably have been cheaper (but not nearly as fun) to have these printed! I think we ended up spending $2 per card for everything except labor. It was a labor of love, but not necessarily a savings to the pocket book! =)

Wedding Invitation Pocket Card Supply List:

  • Corner punch – Making Memories
  • vellum – Hobby Lobby
  • black paper – reem purchased at Xpedx
  • Blue Sparkle Paper – Jo-Ann
  • Copy Paper
  • P from QuicKutz Soph Alpha set
  • decorative edge scissors
  • Silver Paper
  • Brads
  • ribbon
  • printer for invitation
8 Comments

  1. Dana Stringer said,

    August 5, 2009 at 19:46

    Would you mind giving me the instructions to your wedding invatation. This is so pretty.

    Thank you

  2. Tamica Stroud said,

    May 18, 2010 at 19:57

    Yes.. Please can I get the instructions too.. I am paying for a friend to have a wedding of 20 guest. She was going to go to the Justice of Peace but she really deserves a wedding. The magical part is she has no clue.. I have to have invitations done by this weekend for her 6/2/10 surprise wedding.

  3. Pocket Card said,

    June 14, 2010 at 04:02

    I like the color blue, so soft. Design invitations that good, I is interested to make wedding invitations like this, very elegant and casual

  4. Crystal said,

    June 26, 2010 at 21:40

    I was wondering if I could please trouble you for your instructions to this invitation. They are beautiful and my fiance and I love these

  5. Chantal said,

    September 14, 2010 at 12:40

    I agree this is beautiful, I would love to have the instructions as well please.

  6. Jacqueline said,

    January 4, 2011 at 05:56

    Can I also get the instructions of making this cute card for my wedding? Please?

  7. Dana said,

    January 4, 2011 at 09:27

    It’s a simple card to make. To create the pocket, I only taped down the top, bottm and right side of the teal paper. Since there was no tape on the left side, it naturally created a little pocket. The black base started out as an 8.5 x 11. So, I scored it so the finshed card measures 5.5 x 8.5. Trim off as much of the cover as you want to show the pocket and to accommodate all the text for your invitation. Embelish as desired. I hope that helps.

  8. Lauren Lewis said,

    October 28, 2011 at 11:52

    Do you make invitations for people to buy?


Leave a Reply

