Jeweled Post It Note Holder

Post It Note Holder With Jewelry

My mom fell in love with a post it note holder she saw at a store in AZ. And she thought it might be a fun project for us girls to make for Christmas. Yes, it’s a bit early to be thinking about Christmas gifts, but we’ll take any excuse to do some papercrafting!

My aunt, from AZ, kindly sent up some family brooches for us to use. We think it will be a fun way to pass on some family history to the girls in the family.

Top of the Post It Note Holder

Top of the Post It Note Holder

My sister, mom and I decided to create post it note holders using traditional book binding methods. See this post for more info. We covered chipboard (ok, it’s really cereal boxes…that the poor mans version of chipboard?!)  Unfortunately, our first attempt was giving us some grief. The holder was too big and left a big gap between the spine and the post it notes.

See the gap on the right side...not good!

See the gap on the right? Not good!

We contemplated a whole slew of fixes for this guy like putting in a spacer. Or turning it into something you can hang on a bulletin board. But nothing was really working. So we gave up and thought it a pity that this beautiful paper would be wasted.

Then, as I was taking a nap (I LOVE NAPS), it hit me (or was it God inspired)….I could create a drawer that slides out…which would take up all the space in the back. And Voila! This new and improved post it note holder was created!

Look ma, no gap!

Look ma, no gap!

After creating the box for the post it’s I decided I didn’t want it to be  a drawer after all. I think I would be more annoyed by having to pull out a drawer before getting a post it note. So I opted to have the lid just open up.

Lid opens up, box is attached at the bottom and the seam

Lid opens up, box is attached at the bottom and the seam

I added the word “notes” from my QuicKutz Sohp alpha set. I added ribbon on the cover so that the brooch would have something to stick to. So, the lucky gal that gets this box could actually wear the brooch if she wants! I used a small punch to add little finger slots on each side of the box. Paper is DCWV.

Here is the other post it note holder that we created….using better measurements!

Another post it note holder

Another post it note holder

With this one, we didn’t need to create a box because we didn’t have as much of a gap. The pin is actually attached to the paper. So, someone could get it off, but it would be tricker to do get it back on. The top layer of paper is actually puffed up with puffy tape. We added some pearls to accent the paper. Agan, the paper is DCWV.

My aunt will be coming for a visit next week. So we plan on creating more post it note holders. I’ll show pics!

  • The chipboard for these post it note holders is:
  • (2) pieces that measure 3  1/4″ x 3  1/4″ each;
  • (1) piece that measures 3  1/4″ x 7/8″.
  • The outside paper that covers the chipboard measures:
  • 4  1/4″ x 8  5/8″.
  • The inside paper is:
  • 3″ x 7  3/8″.
4 Comments

  1. Vickie said,

    June 29, 2009 at 18:25

    I thinkthis is by far one of your better ideas. Very functional and a pretty way to pass on the family bling!

  2. Helen said,

    June 30, 2009 at 01:59

    Love the post it note holder. I used cereal box also. Two birds in one stone. I don’t understand why some people use chipboards because no one can see once they all wraped up. I really like the cover. I tried to make one like that a while back but it didn’t come up like yours. Is there a special way to make it?

  3. Penny said,

    July 4, 2009 at 03:15

    Wow what a cool idea. I love your ingenuity and how this creation morfed through it’s various stages to an absolute thing of beauty. Well told and well done!

  4. July 7, 2009 at 02:25

    […] her own topper! Kudos to her. She had made a post it note holder previously with a family broach, see this post,  therefore opted to try making a topper. And it turned out beautifully. Homemade Rose for a […]


Leave a Reply

