Father’s Day Gift Card

Father’s Day Gift Cards

This Father’s Day I created some cards for my two dad’s. My goal was to incorporate my new Copic markers. This is the first project I’ve made using the markers. Since they were a gift from one of the dad’s, I thought it especially appropriate to incorporate them. I haven’t taken any classes yet, just watched a few videos online about using them. And I’ve been inpired by several very talented stampers online.

Both cards are actually gift card holders. The first is the card I created for my Father-in-Law. I inserted a Starbucks gift card.

Father's Day Front

Father's Day Front

The card opens just under the leaves. There is a ribbon under the dragonfly panel that allows my dad to open the card.

Inside view of the gift card holder

Inside view of the gift card holder

Here I used QuicKutz Soph alpha to create the sentiment. I used the same leaf and dragonfly from the front; these are from Stampin’ Up. I used a Cuttlebug embossing plate to create the square texture on the pocket. Used Tim Holtz Distress Ink to add some depth to the embossing.

Close up of the coloring I did using Copics

Close up of the coloring I did using Copics

The card I created for my dad is nearly identical to the one I created for my Father-in-Law. The main difference being that I needed a taller gift card holder because I got my dad some scratch lottery tickets instead of a gift card.

Front of my dad's gift card holder

Front of my dad's gift card holder

This is identical to the above card, but the pocket section is a bit taller.

Feelin' Lucky?

Feelin' Lucky?

I used all the same items as above, but the sentiments reads: “Feelin’ Lucky this Dad’s Day?”

Coin for Scratching the Lottery Tickets

Coin for Scratching the Lottery Tickets

I also made a pocket and included a 50 cent piece as his scratch tool.

5 Comments

  1. June 22, 2009 at 02:19

    What a clever idea. Did he just love it?!!

  2. maggie said,

    June 25, 2009 at 00:01

    Thank you,
    Maggie
    http://cuttlebugchallenge.blogspot.com

  3. June Houck said,

    June 26, 2009 at 22:35

    Fun and funky! Good luck with the challenge 🙂

  4. Vickie said,

    June 29, 2009 at 18:30

    Did you get him bunches of scratch tickets? Or did you get him a TWENTY DOLLAR one and then he scratched it and then he scratched it some more and still didn’t win??? Huh, did you??? Oh, yeah this is about your cards…sorry…my bitterness is showing…LOL LOL! Love these cards!

  5. Nadeen said,

    June 30, 2009 at 16:07

    SOoooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute Dana!!!! Love them. I love your talent with the Copic markers too. The leaves and dragonfly look so much more 3-D with those. You rock.


Leave a Reply

