Birthday Card Dilema

Birthday Card Dilema

Help! My trendy friend in Denver is having a birthday on Sunday. In fact, we’re scheduled to have some quality stamp time at my place for her birthday. I want to make her a special birthday card….but it’s a bit stressful for me since she’s a stamper and she loves trendy stuff a lot more than me. Don’t get me wrong, I love trend. But I usually like it several years down the road after it’s no longer trendy! =)

So, I decided to make a really simple card. But then I thought maybe that wasn’t good enough so I created a second card. Then I worried that it wasn’t quite right, either. So I modified my simple card. Here’s where I need your help. Which card would you give to a gal that loves the trendiness of Seattle but living the American Dream in Denver?

Can you tell me which one you like best and why…before Sunday?! I really appreciate it.

The simple simple card

The simple simple card

 Ok. This was the simple card. I really thought it was kind of cute in it’s simplicty. My husband thought it was too simple. So….back to the drawing board.

Same three candles, totally different background

Same three candles, totally different background

So, this second card was an attempt to use teal, because I think she likes that color right now. I distressed the teal square and purposely cut an uneven edge on the patterend background paper. And of course, accentuated it with gems. My husband had his reservations about this one. He thinks the background paper is too old fashioned.

Simple Pink modified

Simple Pink modified

Ok, so here I modifiedthe simple pink card. Added some ribbon and gems. I think it still looks simple, yet not too simple.

But I’m just not sure. I’m a bit biased. I don’t always trust my husbands opinion…especially when it comes to feminine cards. So I’d love to know what you think.

7 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    June 11, 2009 at 03:38

    I really like the first card best. If you feel like it’s “too simple”, why not add a couple of gems to the candles, or glitter on the flames to jazz it up. I like the simplicity of it. Or if you wanted something more, you could frame the pink on black cardstock?? SORRY, I’m not trying to stress you out with more options. Just thinking out loud. I think your friend will LOVE anything that you make her!

  2. Sally said,

    June 11, 2009 at 11:37

    I like the first and last card. I like the first for it’s simplicity – Jennifer is right if you frame it in black the card will pop more. If you want something a bit more dramatic the third card fits that – i would have stamped a background image or textured the pink base. love the candles in all three.
    I often ask my husband for his opinion and sometimes I listen but I find he doesn’t always understand card making – especially when his opinions don’t match mine ;).

  3. Helen said,

    June 11, 2009 at 17:07

    I like the blue one best. And as for the last one, like the two ladies said, I’d mount the light pink one on a dark card stock and brown ribbon and pink gems instead.

  4. Carrie said,

    June 12, 2009 at 01:05

    I’m torn between 1 & 3. I like simple, but I also like a little, so maybe 3 with fewer rhinestones? I know, not much help.
    I’d be delighted to get any of them, though. Seriously.

  5. Carrie said,

    June 12, 2009 at 01:05

    my comment should have said I also like a little bling…

  6. June 16, 2009 at 01:42

    […] my trendy friend from Denver? The one I made three birthday cards for! Well, she came to visit me yesterday and we stamped for 7 hours! Way fun! One of the projects […]

  7. Nadeen said,

    June 16, 2009 at 15:35

    By the way everyone, I she gave me the 2nd (blue) card and it was my favorite! So Dana really does know what I like! 🙂 I feel honored to have a friend that made me 3 versions of a birthday card! Who else does that? 🙂


Leave a Reply

