My Craft Room

Stamping with Princess – My Craft Room and Give Away

I recently visited the blog of One Krafty Kat and she shared pictures of her craft room that she spent 10 hours cleaning. I was drooling over every picure not only at all the amazing stamping stuff she has but over different ways she organizes her stuff. I love to organize and I love to craft. So I thought I’d share my craft room! And I have a give away….see the bottom of the post for details!

Here is a picture before I cleaned my room.

Before I Got My Stamping Cabinet

Before I Got My Stamping Cabinet

Before I show you my stamping room now, let me explain what it use to be like! A big fat mess and very uninspiring. What you can’t see in the picture above is that this is my dining room. This is traditionally where someone would put a china hutch. But not me. I claimed this area for my stamping supplies.

I inherited a chopping block that my dad built that he no longer had room for (my parents moved into a house with a massive kitchen island so they didn’t need the chopping block).  I was using a shoe rack on top of the chopping block to store stuff. I had rolling carts with drawers that I picked up at Sams. And I even had a two tiered paper rack for all my 8.5×11. And still this wasn’t enough.

Empty Cabinet. Pins ready for shelves.

Empty Cabinet. Pins ready for shelves.

This cabinet was actually a TV cabinet that my dad built for his tv. But when he got a flat screen tv, this cabinet was no longer needed. Woo Hoo! He added some hardware inside and now the tv cabinet is officially my stamping cabinet. As you can see, I was sooo anxious to use the cabinet I didn’t bother painting the inside. So…you can see all the glue and rough wood that he used. Doesn’t bother me!

Stamping Cabinet Filled to the brim

Stamping Cabinet Filled to the brim

Here is what the cabinet looked like when I first filled it with my supplies. We put masonite on the pins and we now have adjustable shelves! Everything fits in this cabinet now except my sewing machine and my box of card samples/cards ready to be mailed. I can hardly believe it!

To make room I did get rid of a bunch of stamps that I NEVER used. You know, stamps you inherit from family and friends who give up on the hobby and give you their stuff. I also got rid of a bunch of paper I hadn’t used in years. Literally. When you’ve been stamping for 20 years like I have…it’s not difficult to tell what’s been unused. Just look at how thick the dust is!

Yep, that’s it. I do all my stamping on the dining room table. So I pull things out of the cabinet as I need them. Some day I may create a stamping room in the basement…but I really like the convenience of my stamping space being on the main level.

My workspace is the dining room

My workspace is the dining room

Here’s me at the dining room. I made room so I could eat breakfast and check my email…when what I should have been doing was cleaning the kitchen and my dining room! Thankfully my husband doesn’t mind my craft or my mess. I do pick up after myself and put everything back in the cabinet. I just love having it organized. I’ve also created some other storage solutions. My pens and markers are now in a caddy. A class I will be teaching at Simple Pleasures.

Me in front of the cabinet

Me in front of the cabinet

Here I am standing in front of the cabinet with the doors closed. Yes, they close even with all my stuff in it! I’m 5’6. So the cabinet is about 7′ tall. There are several things I love about the cabinet. I love the dental molding on the crown at the top. My twin sister stincel painted the cabinet. I’m not much into the country style, myself. But my sister painted this for my mom when it was her tv cabinet. I do like the light color of the cabinet…so haven’t had the heart to repaint it.

Here’s the good news….I will be giving away one set of plans for free! Leave me a comment by Sunday, June 7th at midnight (Mountain Standard Time) telling me what you would store in the cabinet. I’ll select a winner randomly and announce it on Monday June 8th. Be sure to tell your friends and post the giveaway on your blog.

Thanks dad for drawing up the plans. For anyone interested in a set of plans, I’ll be selling them on my blog via paypal soon. There are 4 pages in PDF format at 11×17. A size that’s easily printed at Kinko’s or some other such copy store. You can also print them at 8.5×11.

9 Comments

  1. Jenny Gropp said,

    May 31, 2009 at 18:44

    OH Dana! Thanks for sharing your space!!! I just love to see the inventions of others — and it’s so neat to see people’s space. I pull drawers out just like you and tote them to my table! That cabinet is amazing… what a great piece! how lucky for you that your Dad got a flat screen!!!! So neat and organized inside!

  2. Cathy Hughes said,

    June 1, 2009 at 01:58

    Dana thanks for showing us your room. I too, “live” in the dining room. You can see my room on my blog (I think it was one of the first things I posted). I love what you did with the cabinet and I would love to win the plans. I am running out of room in the dining room and could use organization tool! My DH is retiring early and he really needs a “Honey Do” list.

    Cat

  3. Helen said,

    June 2, 2009 at 15:11

    Hi Dana, love your cabinet. Everything looks so neat. Thanks for sharing.

  4. June 3, 2009 at 14:23

    […] this post where I’m giving away one free set. But you can purchase a set of plans today for only $6.99! […]

  5. Kerney Whitman said,

    June 3, 2009 at 16:22

    Awesome! DH is a woodworker and I would love to have the plans for him to craft me up one of these!!!

  6. MARY RUSSOM said,

    June 4, 2009 at 01:56

    What a great cabinet. I would love one for myself! And I like your box for marker/pen storage. That was very cool!

  7. tammy miller said,

    June 4, 2009 at 04:01

    Hi Dana, love your cabinet. Everything looks so neat. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Ronnie Bincer said,

    June 4, 2009 at 15:17

    Hi Dana,
    This is your husband taking a look at your post re. the cabinet. Do you now what “DH” means? I’m guessing its some kind of Crafty term. Am I your DH?

  9. mtnbikechk said,

    June 7, 2009 at 18:33

    Oh, my DH. Of course it is a term of endearment. For a complete list of abbreviations check out this page: http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4947
    I’ll give you a hint, the D in DH is the name of wife in the movie Lady and the Tramp. H, well, that’s for Husband. Hope that helps!


Leave a Reply

