Clearly a Birthday Card

Stamping with Princess – Clearly a Birthday Card

Clearly, this card is made from acetate (a write-on transparency sheet from the office supply store). This is the first card I’ve made with acetate that I actually like! The first couple of attempts were….let’s be honest….pathetic! But it looked so easy in my Archiver’s class! (Yeah, so did water color…and that didn’t turn out so well either)! =)

First, let me give credit where credit is due. I made the tag in a class at Simple Pleasures from the talented instructor Holly Bliss. I’ll be teaching a class at Simple Pleasures in a couple of months so wanted to check out one of their star instructors. We made 8 tags total. All using QuicKutz die’s. I am taking those 8 tags and making 8 cards from them. I hope to make several of them into birthday cards…since that’s what I use the most of.

So here’s my first card with one of the tags.

Here the card is slightly open.

Here the card is slightly open.

Acetate doesn’t crease very well. So the card is always open a bit. I taped it closed for this next shot.

Card taped closed.

Card taped closed.

If you’ve never made an card from acetate, let me fill you in on a secret….you don’t want any tape to show…so layering is a lot more complex than on a traditional card. When you tape something down…like the tag, then you want a layer behind it to cover up the tape…like the orange star. When you stamp something on acetate…like happy birthday…you might need a layer behind it so that it stands out…like the green rectangle. On and on it goes.

So, with that said, here’s what the inside looks like.

White star on the right, orange star on the left

White star on the right, orange star on the left

One problem that acetate cards often have is a suitable place to write a note to the recipient. It’s really quite a challenge. And a pet peeve to some. So, I decided to create a white star behind the orange, which makes kind of a shadow effect. And it allows me an area to write a note to the recipient of the card.

The card itself is a bit out of mycomfort zone. I don’t usually do busy, clear or grunge cards. But once I saw the star paper in one of my paper packs…Iknew that’s what I was going to do! I love it when inspiration takes over!

How did I make it? I created the star shapes by hand. Drew them on scratch paper until I found a shape I was happy with. Then traced and cut out both the orange and white star. The white star is slightly larger so that it can provide a shadow effect. The black panel inside does have distressed edges. I used black ink and a sponge to dirty the edges of most of the layers. I used a black ColorBox to give the white star are more bold edge.

In class, the tags all had ribbon. But I removed that in hopes that this card would be masculine. I asked my husband, he approved it as a masculine card! =) Woo Hoo!

Supply list:

  • QuicKutz die cuts (star, candle, mini tag, large tag)
  • My Sentiments Exactly – Happy Birthday Rubber Stamp
  • DCWV The Stack 6 – star paper and stripe paper
  • Solid paper – red, orange, yellow, white, green, black
  • Acetate
  • Black StazOn inkpad
  • Black ColorBox inkpad
  • double sided tape
  • scissors
1 Comment

  1. Vickie said,

    May 29, 2009 at 04:34

    Okay, that seems like a lot of work!!! Really cool tho!


Leave a Reply

