Photo Card

Stamping with Princess – So Happy Together Photo Card

Let me tell you a secret: I don’t scrapbook! You want to know why? Because pictures intimidate me. Seriously. I struggle figuring out how to mix and match them with stamping elements! It’s the craziest thing.

But I wanted to make this card for my friends because I know that pictures are very important to them. I am constantly getting pictures of the family as I get email updates on how they are doing. Soooo…I set out to do the impossible and make a card with a photo!

So happy together, husband and wife sailing.

So happy together, husband and wife sailing.

To appease my apprehension with making a card with a photo…I decided to create a tone on tone card. My favorite! I think I’d make every card tone on tone if I stamped just for me. I can see myself happily making a tone on tone blog! Hmmmm…..

Close up of accents

Close up of accents

Anyway, as you can tell, there is no stamping involved in this piece. This is all papercrafting. I printed the photo and sentiment on my copier (toner based). Then used a marker and aqua pen to add some blue to the sky, water and sentiment. I drew the waves on a piece of scratch paper and when I found the shape I wanted I traced it onto the blue and cut it out. I added gems and ribbon and that was it! I love it. I especially love the two different sizes of gems I used for wave accents.

wave accent on the inside
wave accent on the inside

I couldn’t resist adding a bit of blue wave on the inside as well. It’s taped only on the very right and left…which allows the white paper to slide up and down as the card is opened and closed. The white typing paper is taped down on the top panel to cover up the assembly of the photo area.

I’d make a list of my supplies but I used all scratch paper I had on hand. So the only thing that I know for sure are the blue Gemstones which are from Hobby Lobby and the blue grosgrain ribbon which is from Creative Impressions!

So…I think I’m going to count this as a masculine card. I mean, with all that blue…surely it’s masculine! But with all the gems and ribbon…it surely counts as feminine, too! Can a card be both? I’ll have to ask my husband! =)

1 Comment

  1. Vickie said,

    May 29, 2009 at 04:36

    I vote masculin. The bling is just a reflection of the water in my mind. Really like the wave inside…


Leave a Reply

