Thank Yous For Bride and Groom

Stamping with Princess – Thank You Cards for Bride and Groom

Help me out here…is it expected or appropriate to bring a gift to a bridal brunch? We brought gifts to the bridal shower. We will be bringing gifts to the wedding. Is another gift required for the bridal brunch; the meeting of all the women in both families? Since we weren’t sure, my mother and I decided to make a set of 2o thank you cards that the bride and groom can use. But I am curious what ettiquite requires. If you know, please leave me a comment.

And has this ever happened to you: you need a card for a special occassion in about a week but you don’t feel inspired? So you wait until the next day and then the next hoping you wake up with an epiphany? Then time runs out and you throw something together even though you still didn’t feel inspired?

Well, that’s what happened to me. I wanted to make a nice simple and fresh set of thank you cards for my nephew’s fiance with a cute itty bitty bride and groom stamp. But nothing I tried looked appropriate. So due to lack of time, I modified the anniversary card I made for my parents from an earlier post.

Though not a totally new design, I love how they turned out. And I think they would make awesome gifts for any couple getting married. Just swap out the blue color for the wedding color. And voila, a cute gift.

thank you border is the wedding color

thank you border is the wedding color

Unlike the anniversary card, the right side of this card is not cut off. Inside is a piece of typing paper. We (I say we because my mom helped critique the design and then helped mass produce 20 of these) added a ribbon to the front of the dress on this card to mimic the look of the ribbon around the dress of the bride. I was very tempted to add a bow, but that’s not how it will look on the bride’s dress at the wedding, so no bow on the card.

20 of these cards is a bit bulky. So I was going to create a box that was 10 x 7 x 2 that would allow two stacks of cards inside. I did my math wrong and ended up with a box 7 x 7 x 2. So, it was too short to stack the cards side by side. So we made one stack and tied the cards together with blue ribbon to create a tight little bundle. Leaving one loose so the bride can open it, see the whole effect and maybe pass it around for everyone at her Bridal Brunch to see.

Let me just say that although this card looks very simple…it is time consuming. Half way through I was asking myself why I didn’t use two buttons on the shirt instead of three! The shape on the tux shirt is done by hand. I used a compass and ruler (mostly because I enjoy using the compass…and I’m a bit of a perfectionist). The dress shape on this card is different than the anniversary card…because I trimmed around a stamped image (see supply list below).  It’s a lovely image and very easy to cut around. But all the gluing of small pieces on the tux was a little annoying after a while! =) Makes me want to get one of those tools that helps pick up tiny little pieces…it’s only $8 for goodness sake! =)

Boxes and other 3D elements are becoming my new favorite thing to make. I like the fact that the bottom white box, which I created 1/8″ smaller all around, actually peeks out under the black lid. It now looks intentional that the lid is too short! =) Which it wasn’t. Which also meant we had to tie the box together with ribbon or the lid might not stay on very well because of the bulky contents.

Ribbon is tied in a bow and string of plastic pearls accents the ribbon

Ribbon is tied in a bow and string of plastic pearls accents the ribbon

Close up of dress gift tag

Close up of dress gift tag

In the close up, you can see the bow is tucked behind the dress gift tag and that we used the plastic pearl ribbon to accent the white ribbon. And I couldn’t resist adding a gem to the ribbon around the waist of the dress.

Supply list for thank you cards:

  • black matte cardstock for base card
  • white matte cardstock for dress and thank you tag
  • glitter/sparkley white cardstock for tux shirt
  • black shiney cardstock for tux lapel, bow tie and buttons
  • glitter blue cardstock for background of tag
  • typing paper for inside
  • blue ribbon
  • black inkpad
  • embossing pad
  • bridal embossing powder
  • Stampin Up thank you stamp
  • My Sentiments Exactly dress stamp
  • double sided tape
  • mounting tape
  • embossing gun
  • scissors
  • 1/8″ and 1/4″ hole punch for buttons

Supply List for Box and Gift Tag:

  • 3 pieces black matte cardstock for box lid
  • 3 pieces shiney white cardstock for box base
  • 1 piece white matte for gift tag
  • My Sentiments Exactly dress stamp
  • white bridal ribbon
  • white plastic pearl ribbon
  • blue ribbon
  • blue gem
  • bridal embossing powder
  • embossing pad
  • embossing gun
  • scissors
  • double sided tape
  • zots to attach pearl ribbon to bridal ribbon
  • double sided tape
  • scor-pal
8 Comments

  1. Vickie said,

    May 29, 2009 at 04:44

    You have got this wedding thing down! Nice!

  2. Kim said,

    June 2, 2009 at 18:28

    OMG are these lovely, cute and fabulous!!!
    Just wished I would have ssen something like this when I was making 50 wedding shower invites!!!
    Any chance of having a pattern or did you find a design for these?
    Just precious…
    Kim

  3. July 15, 2009 at 07:51

    […] Box of Bride and Groom thank you cards my mom and I created as a gift for them. […]

  4. August 30, 2009 at 14:24

    […] Bride and Groom Thank You Card […]

  5. virginia said,

    September 10, 2009 at 16:33

    I THINK THIS CARD IS JUST WONDERFUL. I PLAN ON MAKING IT FOR A WEDDING THIS SAT. 9/12. jUST TRYING TO FIGURE OUT THE DRESS STYLE.

  6. January 19, 2010 at 03:43

    […] Thank You Card for Bride and Groom […]

  7. Zoe said,

    February 8, 2011 at 00:51

    Lovely!!!

  8. Nina said,

    September 27, 2012 at 07:43

    Can You please leave pattern for dress?


Leave a Reply

