Oh Baby

Stamping with Princess – Oh Baby Card

Before I get started, please take my poll on men (or more importantly…masculine cards). It will open a new window. After you finish taking the poll, close that window and you’ll be right back here. Thanks!

After browsing Split Coast Stampers website the other day I decided I just had to make a waterfall card for a baby shower I will be attending…in a month! And I had to make it right now! Never mind the fact that I need thank you cards for gifts I received for my birthday a month ago!

Oh Baby Waterfall Card

Oh Baby Waterfall Card

One difference between my card and the tutorial on Split Coast Stampers is the fact that on my card, you can’t see the image on the layer below. It took my sister and I about 30 minutes to figure out what measurements each layer needed to be in order to conceal the layer beneath! Her excuse…jetlag. Mine….tired. Hmm…..

As you pull on the tab, the top layer flips up revealing the layer below.

As you pull on the tab, the top layer flips up revealing the layer below.

As you pull on the tab on the bottom, each layer flips up revealing the layer below. And above the animal is the baby name for the animal. Lion’s have cubs, monkey’s have infants and elephants have calfs.

This layer reveals a monkey with the baby name of infant

This layer reveals a monkey with the baby name of infant

The last animal is revealed. The elephant calf.

The last animal is revealed. The elephant calf.

I don’t like the stamped images on the pull tab…but it’s done. Since I have a month before the actual baby shower…I may cut the pull tab part out and replace it with solid yellow. We’ll see.

The patterned paper for this card is from Debbie Mumm for Jo-Ann paper pack. The baby animal die cuts are Cuttlebug. The Oh Baby letters are QuicKutz Soph alphabet set. The alphabet letters for the baby names is Sizzix Take It Easy. The solid colors are from some cheap cardstock pack purchased at Sam’s. It’s unfortunately baby yellow on one side and mustard yellow on the other. So the inside may look a bit funny…but it’s what I had to work with.

My attempt to cover the mustard yellow up.

My attempt to cover the mustard yellow up.

So in an attempt to cover the mustard yellow, I used a square of each color used on the front of the card.

3 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    May 7, 2009 at 20:38

    very cute! and love the color.

  2. Vickie said,

    May 29, 2009 at 04:45

    Okay, you are making me rub my head…how do you do this!?

  3. Joy said,

    September 7, 2009 at 19:00

    These are adorable! I’m new to card making and just bought these zoo animals dies. How did you layer on the different colors, like the pink ears on the elephant?


Leave a Reply

