Thinking of You

Stamping with Princess – Thinking of You

Before I get started, please take my poll on men (or more importantly…masculine cards). It will open a new window. After you finish taking the poll, close that window and you’ll be right back here. Thanks!

What originally started out as a 3D card for my parents anniversary turned into a thinking of you card for a friend who was recently diagnosed with cancer. I felt strongly that I should make this card for her. I really think that it will be something that she can look up at to know that someone cares.

I am taking her family a meal every week for as long as needed and hope to be able to encourage her with a homemade card each time as well.

The dragonfly is the center of attention on both the front and inside, since the center circle folds open with the card.

The dragonfly is the center of attention on both the front and inside, since the center circle folds open with the card.

Not sure how easy it is to make out from the picture…but the focal point of the front is a dragonfly on a large circle. As you open the card, the circle dragonfly area folds back as well…becoming part of the interior design.

Butterflies accompany the dragonfly

Butterflies accompany the dragonfly

The greeting on the outside says: You’ve been on my mind… The inside says: …and on my heart. The patterened paper is DCWV The Stack 6. The stamp is an inny and outy from My Sentiments Exactly. The butterfly is from Stampin Up Priceless. I stamped it with a blue Marvy marker then outlined the interior with the skinny part of the marker. The cardstock blue is some double sided paper my husband got at Sam’s. It’s two toned. Otherwise…I added glitter to the dragonfly, and gems throughout. Oh, and how did I make the circle…my coluzzle.

Oh, and lest I forget…here’s what it looks like from underneath.

The bones of the card

The bones of the card

Should you want to make a card like this…check out the video that gave me the inspiration for it all. From the video I was able to create the circle pop out card on my own. (Ok…you can tell me how awesome I am…go ahead.) But Lets Party Hearty sells templates…which would make it faster and easier to create a bunch of cards.

Enjoy!

7 Comments

  1. JodyM said,

    May 1, 2009 at 23:08

    Your friend will love this card and the meals. I know when my sister went thru cancer last year, it helped just to have people thinking about her and doing little things. Hope things go well for your friend.

    Thanks for the inspiration. This is a beautiful card!

  2. Helen said,

    May 2, 2009 at 01:46

    Beautiful Card! your friend is going to love it. I really like it and I definitely will try one.

  3. Kim said,

    May 2, 2009 at 14:50

    WOW…you have FABULOUS creations Dana!!! They are all beautiful!!!!
    Hugs~ Kim

  4. Vickie said,

    May 29, 2009 at 04:51

    This card is incredible! I love that this first version is for your friend to have something so beautiful to look at and to know you are with her in this battle. I think this card could be used in so many ways. Really lovely!

  5. Helen said,

    July 14, 2009 at 22:19

    Hi Dana,

    I finally learn how to make the 3 D card. I like your better though because mine has the cut. I am going to have to try another one your way. I’ll let you know. Thanks for the inspiration.

  6. Kristie said,

    November 5, 2009 at 09:07

    what where the measurements you used for the thinking of you pop out card? I love it and would like to give it a go.

  7. mtnbikechk said,

    November 13, 2009 at 02:58

    The card is a standard 8.5×5.5 folded in half. I simply cut a 1/2 circle out of the cover then added the interior piece. I am not sure what that interior piece measures cause I don’t have the card any more. I actually played with a couple pieces of scratch paper unil I figured it out. Not sure that helps. Best of luck! =)


Leave a Reply

