Magic Box – Secrets Revealed

Stamping with Princess – Magic Box Secrets Revealed

Before I get started, please take my poll on men. It will open a new window. After you finish taking the poll, close that window and you’ll be right back here. Thanks!

I’ve had several people inquire about the card holder and the floating shapeson my 3D Magic Box. I apologize for not sharing a picture of the profile of the box…which I think may answer most of your questions.

Side view of the gift card holder and closeup of floating flowers and hearts

Side view of the gift card holder and closeup of floating flowers and hearts

As you can see, I created a triangle shaped support for the base of the card holder. Because the gift card holder leans back when it’s attached to the triangle, you will want to place it as far forward as possible so the sides of the box have room to fold up and close.

Additionally, I hope you can make out how the flowers and hearts are floating. I have them attached to strips of acetate (transparency sheets). I cut slits into the center square and inserted the acetate strips into that. So they are sprouting from the bottom center square. I used Zots (clear adhesive dots) to attach the die cut to the acetate.

The daisy flowers and heart are both QuicKutz die cuts which I used in my cuttlebug.

I trust the photo and explanation has helped some!

I will be teaching a class in July on how to make the magic boxes in Colorado Springs. If you would like me to send you a kit, please leave me a comment. The kits include the instructions/tutorial, paper (pre-scored) and accessories (such as ribbon and gems). You will need to provide your own glue/tape and scissors. I will be adding a shopping cart to this site in a week or two so you can purchase through paypal.

Glad you enjoy this project! Here’s the original Mother’s Day Magic Box.

9 Comments

  1. April 23, 2009 at 14:10

    […] I forgot to add a picture of the profile so that you can see how everything is attached. Please see this post for the […]

  2. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:15

    Cool! A shopping cart!! You are on your way girl!

  3. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:17

    Okay, it is not 3:15am. It is 9:16pm… anyway, I love the box too. Very creative…you wow me, Dana.

  4. Dawn said,

    April 26, 2009 at 14:27

    I would love a kit!

  5. Diane said,

    April 28, 2009 at 18:10

    This box is soooooo cool. I would love to purchase a kit.

  6. Cynthia Hawkins said,

    June 18, 2009 at 02:32

    I love this box. I want to purchase a kit. Put me down for two.

  7. Yvonne said,

    July 8, 2009 at 12:03

    What a wonderful creation! I’m so glad that you are willing to share a kit with us. I definitely want to purchase TWO!. Please let me know when and how! Your ideas are really inspiring!

  8. Diana Wilkins said,

    March 15, 2010 at 15:56

    How much is the kit for the Mother Day card.

    Thank you.

  9. mtnbikechk said,

    March 27, 2010 at 16:56

    Diana,
    Thank you for inquiring about the kit for the mother’s day card. Unfortunately, I don’t sell those any more. But I do have a free tutorial on how to create a magic box. Check out this post (near the bottom) for a link to the tutorial. https://stampingwithprincess.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/wedding-album-magic-box/


Leave a Reply

