Magic Box – Mother’s Day Gift Card Holder

Stamping with Princess – Magic Box Mother’s Day Gift Card Holder

Before I get started, please take my poll on men. It will open a new window. After you finish taking the poll, close that window and you’ll be right back here. Thanks!

Now, the minute I saw that Gift Card Holders was one of the categories for the Mother’s Day Challenge at Moxie Fab World I knew what I was going to make. A 3D magic box using the same paper I used on my mom’s birthday card. This time, the box is for my mother-in-law. If my mom liked the paper….does that mean my mother-in-law will too?

Here’s the box:

Here's a close up of the lid. You may not be able to tell, but each side panel is decorated slightly differently

Here's a close up of the lid. You may not be able to tell, but each side panel is decorated slightly differently

Decorated with beautiful papers, a little ribbon, lots of gems and a cute little button. But the fun really takes shape when you remove the lid and open the box!

When open, the magic box lays flat.

When open, the magic box lays flat.

Can you make out all the details? All the little gems I’ve added? The cute little gift card holder in the center. Let me give you a close up.

 

Close up of the Gift Card Holder.

Close up of the Gift Card Holder.

Now, what about the floating hearts and daisy’s? Here’s a close up of those, too!

Close up of the floating hearts and daisy's

Close up of the floating hearts and daisy's

 

One piece of 12×12 decorative paper dresses up both the inside and outside panels of the box. The box itself required two pieces of 12×12. One for the lid and one for the base. Then there’s one more piece of paper as a frame around each panel. So that’s 4 pieces of paper total.

Again, my husband took a short video of the box so you can see it in motion.

I noticed that I forgot to add a picture of the profile so that you can see how everything is attached. Please see this post for the details.

Supplies:

  • 1 piece 12×12 green cardstock DCWV
  • 2 pieces 12×12 teal cardstock DCWV
  • 1 piece light blue glitter cardstock
  • 1 piece 12×12 decoratve paper
  • 1 piece acetate (transparency sheet)
  • ribbon
  • gems
  • button
  • die cut heart QuicKutz
  • die cut daisy QuicKutz
  • die cut alphabet QuicKutz Soph
  • Happy Mothers Day stamp Hero Arts Mother’s Day Message C2962
  • decorative scissors
  • zots
  • doube sided tape
  • grommets
11 Comments

  1. Jane Harrah said,

    April 23, 2009 at 00:04

    This is amazing. What were the measurements? How did you get the card to pop up? Just beautiful!

  2. Sherry D said,

    April 23, 2009 at 01:29

    Very cool! … I was wondering the same … what are the dimensions and how do you get the flowers and hearts to float like that, and what did you do to hold the GC in the center?!! Inquiring minds want to know!! Please share!! Ü

  3. Helen said,

    April 23, 2009 at 01:31

    Hi Dana,

    Another beautiful box! what did you use to make the heart and the daisy looking like they are floding?

  4. Sherry D said,

    April 23, 2009 at 01:35

    I found the site after viewing the wedding box for your nephew! Another lovely gift box!! These really are a WOW gift and I’m glad I came to check it out!! You did a FAB-ulous job with all of them!! Ü

  5. April 23, 2009 at 14:04

    […] you enjoy this project! Here’s the original Mother’s Day Magic Box. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Magic Box – Weddingthe story box magic secret […]

  6. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:20

    Oh my gosh! That is so cool! You need to sell these thiings. You are way out of my league. But of course you knew that! After all I am the semi-homemade card maker. You are the Master 🙂

  7. Tim and Whit said,

    May 1, 2009 at 17:11

    Hey Dana! I work with Deborah at HIS and she sent me a link to your blog. I just watched your video on your Mother’s Day card and was amazed! It really looks great and I definitely think you have a future in this business. If I were nearby I would honestly buy one for my mom. Also, it was freaky to hear someone who sounds nearly identical to Deborah without seeing your face–I was almost convinced it was actually her!
    Whitney Scarborough

  8. March 27, 2010 at 16:50

    […] Mothers Day Gift Card Holder […]

  9. Lalia H said,

    August 9, 2011 at 21:16

    I stumbled across this on YouTube just now. That’s awesome. Love the acetate flowers that bob and float.

  10. Debbie said,

    May 28, 2012 at 19:10

    This is beautiful. I am trying to make one for my niece and I am having problems with the acetate not being strong enough. Everything I attach is too heavy and drops to the table. Any suggestions??

  11. March 8, 2013 at 03:33

    […] make her a magic mother’s day box following the tutorial by Stamping with Princess. Simply follow the tutorial and away you […]


Leave a Reply

