Post It Note Holder / Post it Note Book

Stamping with Princess – Post It Note Book

My mom was vacationing in Tempe, AZ this spring and came across the cutest little notebooks. So, naturally she requested that “we” make them…meaning I need to figure out how to make it. So after a little research, here is what I came up with.

The bones of this project are made with a cereal box. With all the talk of “green” and “recycling” you can feel pretty good about this project. Any thin box like an old gift box would work. But a brown corregated packing box would probably be too thick.

My rendition of the project is a masculine post it note holder / post it note book. I say book because I’m using the book binding / book cover method. This will allow the book to open without putting too much tension on the paper. Too much tension on the paper causes it to crack, which reveals the white core. Very unsightly.

In this version I used only one piece of decorative cardstock for the exterior and one piece of cardstock for the interior. I think it’s holding up pretty well. Not sure why the tutorials use a seperate piece for the binding. Is it more than aesthetics??? I’m not sure. But I made sure to crease the paper while the glue was still wet, which I think helps prevent the paper from cracking.

Post It Note Book Thank You

Post It Note Book Thank You

I have added a thank you tag. I asked my husband if this was masculine looking since I plan to give it to a coworker of his that took us to the movies. He hesitated then said yes, because the tag can be removed. Not sure what the big deal is about the tag. I tied it on with jute! =)

I covered the inside with plain brown, keeping in mind that this is a masuline project.

An insiders look at the post it note book

An insiders look at the post it note book

The only post it notes I had in the house were from a neighborhood community where I use to live. They are 3″x4″. Not your traditional post it note size.

If you would like to learn how to cover post it notes, I recommend the following video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PUQszaROM0&NR=1. But be fore warned….these videos are addicting! =) Watch at your own risk! =)

Supplies:

  • 1 piece Safari Chic Cardstock DCWV
  • 1 piece brown cardstock
  • 1 piece of beige cardstock
  • 1 cereal box
  • Thank You Swirl Rubber Stamp from Stampendous!
  • Brown Marker
  • Glue Stick
  • Jute
  • Single Hole punch
  • Bone Folder
  • Ruler
  • Post It Notes
  • Square Die cuts from Cuttlebug
  • Cuttlebug
2 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    April 19, 2009 at 22:13

    I know what you mean. One day I spent hours watching the video on youtube and nothing around the house got done.

  2. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:27

    Yes, this is masculine. The tag is masculine and so is the jute. I’m with you…not sure what hubby meant by that. But this is a very neat project and you did a nice job with it.


Leave a Reply

