Minimal Ladybug Minimal Vase

Stamping with Princess – Minimal Thank You’s in Red

I needed a couple thank you cards for some friends who invited us over for dinner. I wanted to impress them with some amazing cards because they’ve never seen my work. But I have been distracted by other 3D projects and kept procrastinating. I watched a video today that used paper piecing from magazines. Again, another “green” idea. Reusing old magazines.

This paper piecing technique works well with stamps that have lots of open space. You know, stamps that are mostly outlines. I did not see many in my collection that would work for this method. I guess it’s time to to go shopping! =)

I settled on the Stampendous Window Box Set. This set screams minimalism, to me. So I changed my plans and went with something simple. If you’ve seen my work, you know I’m of the thought, “more is better”.  And that everything needs bling. But in this case, maybe not.

minimal-lady-thank-you

All colors were taken from the Kraft Food and Family Magazine. I stamped the image several times on different parts of the magazine. The blue was a piece of advertisment. The red was from a blouse. I used only a small porton of the thank you stamp.

minimal-vase-thank-you

Again, all the colors are from various pictures in the magazine. The yellow vase is a piece of pumpkin pie, the dark blue is from a skirt, the light blue is from an advertisment and the pink flower is from an advertisement. This time I stamped the entire thank you stamp…but it disappears behind the image.

All the materials for this project were either scraps (the red cardstock) or repurposed (the magazines). I used black StazOn ink, scissors and a glue stick. I stamped each image on the cardstock so I’d know where to past the various parts and pieces. And so that if I didn’t cut all of the line it would still show up. Pretty simple! I’d love to hear from you…are these cards up to my usual standard?

If you’d like to see an awesome video on paper piecing and using magazines to add color to your images, see: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8063569645650233230&ei=7InqSbqlE53eqAPsz4T6Bw&q=%22The+Scrapbook+Lounge%22+%22As+seen+on+TVWeekly%22&hl=en&emb=1

3 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    April 19, 2009 at 22:10

    very cute card! I love the idea of reuse. Now you had me rethinking if I should spend anymore money with SU. 🙂

  2. Jenny Gropp said,

    April 24, 2009 at 20:54

    Ohhh – I just love these both. I always go for more is more too — but these are just RIGHT!

  3. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:23

    You are freaking me out!!!! These are just perfect and I love your choice of colors. You are really very good at this. Like gifted good!


Leave a Reply

