Magic Box – Wedding

Stamping with Princess – Magic Box for My Nephew’s Wedding

This 3D magic box was one of those handmade items that I had to make as soon as I saw it. Below is my interpretation of the magic box made specifically as a gift card holder for my nephew who will be getting married in a few weeks.

Here is the outside of the box.

Here is the outside of the box.

 

When you pull the top of the box off, the box springs open and flat revealing bows and hearts in mid air!

A view of the box with the lid off.

A view of the box with the lid off.

 

I made bows from wedding ribbon purchased at Joann. The hearts are die cut from silver cardstock using QuicKutz die in my Cuttlebug. The stamp is a wedding cake colored with an aquapen in teal…the color of my nephew’s wedding. The paper was purchased at Joann.

When I originally showed my husband pictures of magic boxes he looked at me and said, “what’s the point?”. Being cute doesn’t justify a pretty box in his mind. So I decided to make mine into a gift card holder. Now that it has a purpose, he likes it!

Now, let me give credit where credit is due. I first saw this magic box on Split Coast Stampers. This gal, Dolly Watt, has made several magic boxes and was my inspiration. After digging around, I found the original creator at http://www.magic-boxes.com/.

My husband also made a short, short video on youtube of it so you can see it’s moving parts and pieces. Please note that in the video I got the web address wrong for the original creator of the box. Boxes should be plural as in more than one box. You can see the original at www.magic-boxes.com.

11 Comments

  1. Alexandra said,

    April 15, 2009 at 13:10

    I saw here boxes as well and HAD to try. Aren’t they fun!??! I have actually found them a bit addictive and keep thinking of all kinds of new ideas. Unfortunately, mine don’t have a purpose other than making them 🙂 I love your idea for the gift card!!!

  2. Cassie said,

    April 15, 2009 at 13:13

    Gorgeous box! Thanks for the fantastic tutorial 🙂

  3. Helen said,

    April 15, 2009 at 13:51

    Hi Dana,
    Lovely box! and a great idea for the gift card! You had great ideas I will have to try and make some of your projects. Thanks for sharing.

  4. April 16, 2009 at 09:42

    Dana this is fabulous – absolutely beautiful!

    Love the gift card twist and it’s great being able to see the box in motion.

    Elaine x

  5. April 23, 2009 at 14:29

    […] I created for my nephew’s fiance for her bridal shower. This is the same couple I made the magic box for. This could easily be used as a wedding card. Simple yet elegant wedding […]

  6. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:31

    Okay, it’s official! I bow at the feet of Princess 🙂 This was just fantastic and I loved the You tube video. More! More!

  7. July 15, 2009 at 07:51

    […] Magic Box / gift card holder I created as a wedding present for him. […]

  8. March 27, 2010 at 16:50

    […] Original Wedding Magic Box […]

  9. tanyt said,

    April 9, 2010 at 02:52

    very nice boxes

  10. Lynda said,

    August 26, 2010 at 19:31

    This is really a beautiful project and I can’t wait to try it. Thank you so much for sharing it with us all.

  11. shanda queeley said,

    September 26, 2011 at 20:22

    how can i get in touch with you. I need some magic box wedding invitations to by


Leave a Reply

