Halloween Card for Christians

Stamping with Princess – Halloween Card for Christians

You may think it strange, but I have recreated a Halloween card for Easter!  It’s true! I got my inspiration from the October 2008 edition of Paper Crafts Magazine. Halloween has lots of images of witches and warlocks. Images that Christians don’t believe should be glorified, myself included.

But Halloween also  has images of death and tombstones, something Christians read about every Easter. True! Take Matthew 28. “Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to the tomb.” See, there it is, a tomb. And, they even went into the tomb! Because an angel told them to go in.  Really! They went looking for Jesus, but he had risen from the dead (see Matthew 28:6). See, there it is, talk of death

So, with all this talk of tombs and death, why aren’t these images prevalent at Easter? Well, because of the later part that tells us Jesus rose from the dead. This is the pivital point of Christianity. By rising from the dead, Jesus conquored sin and death. He satisfied God’s demand for a sin offereing (Leviticus 6:24). And because of his death and resurrection we can go to heaven (John 3:16).

Anyway, I recreated this interactive Halloween card because I thought it was soo neat how all the interactivity worked. Here’s my Easter version:

 

M.T. Tomb

M.T. Tomb

 

The text in the background is taken from Matthew 28. This part of the Bible says that Jesus rose from the dead and his tomb is M.T. (empty).

Now, this card is interactive. So you can pull on the tab on the right side of the tomb…

As you pull on the tab on the right side of the tomb, a ghost appears and the spider moves up the tombstone

As you pull on the tab on the right side of the tomb, a ghost appears and the spider moves up the tombstone

 

As you pull on the tab on the right side of the tomb, a ghost appears. It has the letters H.G. on its chest. As you pull, the spider that was sitting at the base of the tomb, climbs up the tomb.

Inside the card is a poem, that helps the recipient of the card understand all the initials I put on the front of the card.

I chalked a cross over the verse

I chalked a cross over the verse

The verse reads:

The tomb is M.T. (empty),
Jesus rose from the dead.
 He promised us a Counselor,
The Holy Ghost (H.G.) in his stead.

So, there it is. My Halloween/Easter card. I used my cuttlebug to create the letters. Did a lot of chalking. And used my computer. Most of the shapes are cut free hand, such as the the ghost, the tomb and the cross.

1 Comment

  1. Vickie said,

    April 26, 2009 at 03:34

    I am so glad you put this on your blog. It was/is cute and I would give it to children in a heart beat.


Leave a Reply

