Mom’s Birthday Pocket Card

Stamping with Princess – Mom’s Birthday Pocket Card – Filled with Birthday Cards!

Cover of Pocket Card of the Birthday Card for My Mom

Cover of Pocket Card of the Birthday Card for My Mom

Ok, what do you think? Will I melt my mothers heart with this birthday pocket card? Not only is it a card for her, but has two pockets full of birthday cards inside. In the past I had given her my rejected cards….but now she has my best work.

Inside view of pocket card with all the cards fanned

Inside view of pocket card with all the cards fanned

 

A closer look at the feminine cards

A closer look at the feminine cards

 

A closer look at the masculine cards

A closer look at the masculine cards

 

If you want instructions on how to make the pocket card, please see this post: https://stampingwithprincess.wordpress.com/2009/02/28/stamping-with-princess-cupcake-birthday-greeting-kit/. The only change I made was to increase the card to 9.75×6 scoring 4.5 from each end leaving .75 center seam. This larger seam allows room for the pockets and puffy cards.

One thing to note about these 6 birthday cards is that they use the same themed paper. They have polka dots! Yep, both the feminine and the masculine cards. I pulled that paper from the DCWV The Spring Stack. The solid papers I pulled from a paper pack I bought at Joann (also available at Michael’s).

The masculine cards do have ribbon – something my husband keeps trying to convince me not to use. But he seemed ok with the ribbon because the “hardware” on the card made it look more masculine. Hardware? Gromets.

And of course, the feminine cards all have bling! I went a little bling crazy. Too much?

I also love the fact that these cards use pretty much the same stamps. A cake and greeting from the Hero Arts set called Birthday Wishes Fancy Notes LL899. I also used a Happy Birthday greeting from Printwork Designs G1153.

The pocket card cover uses paper from DCWV The Stack 6 for the teal swirl. And solid teal from DCWV textured cardstock stack. The pockets inside are teal sparkle paper from Joann. Any teal paper would look nice.

I couldn’t make the card without my Cuttlebug. So I used QuicKutz Soph alphabet and Sizzix Take It Easy Alphabet. I also used a heart from QuicKutz for the back. I also put glitter on the “mom” letters on the front of the card, that may not have come through very well in the photo.

What I’d do different next time:
1. I would use cream paper behind all the cake portions. One card has pink. I would be more consistant with that.
2. I’d try to add an area to write a note to my mom. Maybe on the back? I really don’t think the heart on the back is enough to convey warm birthday wishes! =)
3. I wouldn’t use sparkly paper for the pockets. It too rough and I’m afraid some of the letters will flake off.

If you make a pocket card of your own, email me a link. I’d love to see it.

Dana

2 Comments

  1. Vickie said,

    March 27, 2009 at 04:03

    Gorgeous! Your Mom will love them. And no…there is no such thing as too much bling:-)

  2. Naders said,

    April 7, 2009 at 15:00

    Did she totally love them or what???!!!! I KNOW she did. 🙂 My birthday’s June 12 FYI.


Leave a Reply

