Stamping with Princess – Toolbox

Stamping with Princess – My New Toolbox!

Tools of the Trade Toolbox

Tools of the Trade Toolbox

I am thrilled to show you my new toolbox. Though not my first attempt at decorating a 3D item, this is the first time I’ve created a toolbox that will inspire me! Previously my pens were sitting in old mugs I had laying around the house (definitely NOT inspirational).

The toolbox is an old rootbeer box that just happened to fit all my markers, pens and miscellaneous tools perfectly. I started out by selecting various papers that intrigued me (black, white and red in various patterns), then added some pinks for more fun. I couldn’t resist adding tons of ribbon, gems and die cuts! I reinforced all the corners and paper edges with decorative elements to prevent the paper from peeling over time.

I’d love to hear what you think of it. And if you have a toolbox you’ve created, send me a link to it!

toolbox-front

toolbox-back

toolbox-right

toolbox-left

 

 

 

Supplies:

  • 1 rootbeer box
  • 5 pieces decorative paper (used mostly DCWV papers)
  • 7 pieces solid paper
  • 7 different ribbon types (EK Success Adornaments, S.E.I., Bazzill Basics, Offray, In The Loop, Jute)
  • 4″ QuicKutz daisy
  • 2″ QuicKutz heart
  • QuicKutz Moxie alphabet
  • QuicKutz Soph alphabet
  • Sizzix Take it Easy Alphabet
  • Cuttlebug  heart
  • Cuttlebug circle
  • gems (light pink, dark pink, red, clear, pearls)
  • pink grommets and grommet setter
  • needle
  • hole punch
  • double sided tape
  • puffy tape
  • ribbon glue
  • craft knife

Instructions:

  1. Adhere decorative paper to the front and back of the rootbeer box making sure they are a little long so they wrap around to the sides. Adhere the decorative papers to the sides of the rootbeer box. This will stop at the edges and overlap the front and back papers. Adhere paper to the handle of the box. Cut out handle portion with a craft knife.
  2. Adhere 1.5″ squares to all bottom corners and 1.5″ circles to all top corners of the box for added durability and to help protect the papers from peeling up at the corners. Using needle and thin jute, cross stitch an x in each square to add strength to the corner piece. Attach grommet in corner circles to add strength to the corner piece. Glue ribbon at paper transitions to help prevent them from peeling.
  3. Create all the die cut elements and attach with tape and/or puffy tape where desired. Die cut words such as “Tools of the Trade” and your name and adhere where deisred. Sew ribbon onto box where desires.
  4. Attach gems.
  5. Fill the toolbox with your favorite tools.
1 Comment

  1. Helen said,

    April 16, 2009 at 00:12

    Hi Dana,

    What a great idea to recycle! I never thought of using the beers holder. I will definitely try one. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

